Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jenniferlstout
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
These were fantastic! I brought them to work and my co-workers couldn't get enough. I'll definitely make them again. The cream cheese frosting that I used was a perfect compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferlstout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Don't panic when your batter gets all lumpy after the buttermilk goes in like I did! Persevere, and after the flour is added, the batter will (should!) become smooth. Tastes great and would recommend using Scharffenberger non-processed cocoa. Has a much better taste/smell than regular cocoa, in my opinion. Simple recipe, good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This recipe made wonderful little mini cupcakes. It is a light and fluffy cake; some red velvet cakes are much more dense, but if you prefer a spongier cupcake, this one is for you. I overfilled the cups and many rose too high (although they made yummy muffin tops) - filling your cup half full makes a cake even with the paper edge. Like another reviewer, I made Janni's Cream Cheese Frosting II. This red velvet cupcake recipe made 60 mini cupcakes and Janni's frosting covered them all with two cups more to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
496 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Very good. Everyone loved these. I made them for my wife's baby shower. Just a tip: I don't think it will work for anything other than red. I tried to make them blue, substituting blue food coloring for the red. The batter turned green as soon as I added the cocoa. I may have to try these again for St. Patrick's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This southern gal loved this recipe, indeed a smaller bite size version from the Red Velvet Cake. One thing you need to make sure is to room temp the buttermilk and eggs. Other than that top these babies off with cream cheese and they are sure to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurSweetLoves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Chrissie
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
i made these a few times and every time people love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TBOZZO
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
These were so easy to make and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I made these yesterday and they are almost gone! I used the nutty cream cheese icing and they were GREAT!! Thanks, Laurie Leigh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Good recipe. Not a mind-blowing one, but still, good. I also used the cream cheese frosting 2 recipe posted by Janni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is the first time I've tried making red velvet cake. A great success. My husband immediately gobbled down 4 of the cupcakes as soon as they were out of the oven. I made a few modifications based on several other red velvet cupcake recipes I found. I used only 2 tablespoons of cocoa and only 1 teaspoon of white vinegar. This batch made 65 mini-cupcakes and they came out moist and delicious. I will definitely make them again. I used a quick and simple cream cheese/butter/powder sugar frosting and topped them with a green M&M. They make a nice x-mas themed treat (red cake, white frosting, green candy). Highly recommended. Enjoy, everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States