Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I make these all the time now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mz Lada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magadan, Magadan Oblast, Russia
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Almost finished making them right now. They were easy and I substituted a bit, but they look great! I didn't have red food colouring though because I hate the taste of food colouring in baked goods. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe... I made red velvet cupcake for the second time with this recipe and this time the cupcake came out super delicious.... They are moist and very soft!! The only thing is that you might want to reduce the cocoa powder since I can became a bit too chocolate (I don't know if it's because I was using baking cocoa instead!!!) In addition I added a bit of baking soda and powder to create a reaction and have it more red, and because i wanted the cupcakes to grow!! perfect everyone just loved the cupcakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was the first recipe I've tried for red velvet cupcakes; and they turned out great! The cupcakes were light and fluffy, and topping it with a cream cheese frosting made it perfect. I didn't end up using as much red food coloring as the recipe called for, because personally I think a whole ounce of food coloring is way too much! But other than that, I would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dolly
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Made these for Valentine's Day and Evvvveryone loved it. Was my first time making red velvet and it was super easy. Used a few subsitutions but still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
These are red but not velvet for sure. They are more spongy choc. cake than anything. Tasted no so great. Red velvet is rich & dense and light at the same time. And really red, not chocolate reddish. The photo lied. Never used butter in my red velvet cakes. Always oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Yes, definately great recipe, everyone loves this cake, when I make it. Did not change a thng in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
The recipe is easy to follow. The cupcakes turn out somewhat chocolaty and that's what I was looking for. If I am going to put chocolat in something I want to be able to taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
After reading nearly all reviews I was very unsure... Well, I made them today as written. What can I say, they were light, fluffy, moist enough and "morish"! Thanks for a super recipe (my cup cake liners must be slightly smaller, as I made 36)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I have used this recipe multiple times. I change the color of the traditional Red Velvet for other holidays as well! I have always gotten great reviews from my patients, friends and family. I would have to say that when I make the cream cheese frosting for the cupcakes I always cut the sugar in half. I feel that it allows the flavor of the Red Velvet to come out rather than be masked by loads of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States