Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Yummy, light and moist on the inside, just a little crisp on the outside. Topped them with cream cheese frosting. My family loved them, and they're quite pretty. The amount of food coloring freaked me out, but I guess that is to be expected for a red cupcake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
These were amazing! I love making things from scratch and having them come out way better than any mix could do. I made these for Valentines day for my boyfriend and he loved them. I used the "1 tbsp of vinegar in a measuring cup and fill with milk to the 1 cup line and let sit for 5 min" thing for a substitute for buttermilk. It did make 24 decent sized cupcakes and I frosted them with white frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Delicious cupcakes! Soft, moist, light and just perfect amount of chocolate flavour! Thank you!!! Mine made 24 regular sized cupcakes. Just in time for Valentine's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RueBarbe
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
My cupcakes are moist, tender, and tasty. My only issue is that they look more like pink devil's food, rather than red velvet, and I had cut the cocoa to 1/4 cup. I would make this again, but reduce the cocoa to a tablespoon or two, and increase the red colouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
NB: cut the cocoa back to 2 T Frosting: 1/2c. of unsalted butter (softened) 2- 8oz. packs of cream cheese (softened) 3 1/2 cups of powdered sugar 1 tbsp of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RetroMom
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I made this for a thing at my daughter's school and it came out pretty great! I would add a little more red color next time and I thought they were a little bit too dense, but my husband loved them and thought they were perfect. I would definitely make again, but I think I will sift the flour and see if that lightens them up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Disappointed in these cupcakes! Very dry. Not sure what I could have done differently to change the outcome. I will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devine Dessert Diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
My 8 year old son's favorite cake is red velvet cake and this is the recipe I use every year for his birthday. This makes wonderful red velvet cupcakes. I use buttercream frosting to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
they are the best cupcakes i've ever made... i always make them.. and they are always perfect! Thank-You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arvnoush

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Turned out a little dry. Will try some of the suggestions in the reviews here to refine the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States