Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by beejaymc
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Love these! I used a cream cheese frosting from a carrot cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
very simple receipe.I really enjoyed these cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Not crazy about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Turned out like choc cake, really good but not red velvety
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MooreCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have been using this cupcake recipe for about two years now, and I absolutely love it! Even people who don't like red velvet cake tell me how good it is. I make the recipe exactly how it is and it comes out perfect every time. I always pair it with a cream cheese frosting and it's great. Many people don't like that it is a "chocolately" cupcake, but that is what red velvet is. My friends mom is actually ordering a red velvet cake, and so I decided to make this recipe. I just pulled the first batch out of the oven at 25 minutes, and it was perfect! I'm so excited to make many more cupcakes and cakes with this recipe! Definitely one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I liked it. The colour was fine but the moisture didn't seem enough for me unlike the red velvet cakes I have had. I used 2 tbsp of cocoa and substituted buttermilk for one cup of whole milk mixed with a tablespoon of lemon juice and let sit for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LearningByYourCooking
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Thank you for this! Your recipe is a huge hit at bbq's and potlucks. I found a picture, I had a helper!(note the iced green squiggly one!) you can sort of see the cupcake but more the icing.. I didn't have cocoa powder so I used a little hot chocolate mix (I know probably not recommended). I also only had rice vinegar, so I used a smaller amount. I also was out of vanilla so I substituted with almond extract. I ran out of red food coloring so they weren't very red, more pinkish haha but they still tasted amazing! I didn't mean to change the recipe so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I made a cake with the same ingredients and it was awesome. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
These cupcakes had a lovely light texture and nice flavour. I didn't have a full bottle of food colouring so the colour suffered a little, but not much. Used a vanilla cream cheese frosting and these disappeared from the adult table at my daughter's cupcake party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Easy to make, but they didn't have much of a flavour to them. Next time I make, I think I will try adding more chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States