Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kcoooorey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I found this recipe a bit dry and dense. Not fluffy as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made these cupcakes with a few additions and changes. I added 1/4 cup of vegetable oil, 1 tbsp of sour cream, 1 extra teaspoon of vanilla extract, and instead of 1/3 cup of cocoa, I used 1/2 cup of cocoa, and if you want a more vibrant red as opposed to a chocolatey red, add 2 ounces of red food coloring. In my opinion, these cupcakes were perfectly moist, deliously flavored, and beautifully red!! A definate must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
WOW! Couldn't be more pleased, really! I was very happy with the taste and texture of these - I didn't think I was a fan of red velvet (if you're gonna eat chocolate, eat chocolate, right?!?!) Well, I made basically this recipe--used cake flour and only 2T cocoa. Frosted with 8oz cream cheese 2oz butter 1.5c powdered sugar Pinch of salt & vanilla... **AMAZING**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These are fabulous and the entire family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARASUE2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemlock, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Very moist and tasted great. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
It's a good recipe overall. However I think it's a bit too heavy on the cocoa powder. They don't taste like red velvet to me. They taste more like a richer chocolate cupcake. The cocoa stands out a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
These were so good,but not sure how to make them a little more red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I hadn't made these before trying this recipe. After adding the cocoa mine turned green as well. I didn't have enough red food coloring so that's my fault. They still tasted good and were moist. I added some store-bought cream cheese frosting to the top. Next time, I will make sure I have enough red food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carmen
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
These cupcakes had a nice flavor and texture, especially since they are made from scratch... nothing extraordinary though. I think some adjustments have to be made if you really want RED cupcakes, these were kind of a redish-brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States