Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Very easy recipe to follow and they tasted great the day that I made them but the next day they were as dry as sand paper. I don't know if I did something wrong, I'm pretty sure I didn't. But this was no good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is my go to recipe for red velvet. Pair it with the Cream Cheese II recipe and it's a recipe for success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
this is very good yum!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I made these for my friend's birthday. It was a big hit. The cream cheese frosting from this site compliments it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe doesn't scale well. I moved to 24 servings and it was dry as a bone and the flavor shifted a bit from the time that I made it before. I'm not sure what happened because the 20 count recipe does work well. I would probably add a bit more buttermilk or a tablespoon of canola oil to the recipe to get it a bit more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I thought these were pretty plain. I didn't use the food coloring, but the taste was pretty bland because of all the cocoa powder. And they definitely need a homemade cream cheese frosting, the canned kind simply will not do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
If you make this recipe with no changes it is not a Red Velvet cupcake recipe, it is a chocolate cake recipe with red food coloring (that still doesn't make the cupcakes red). Red Velvet should be much more delicate with a hint of chocolate flavor. The batter is very heavy and the cakes are dense and a muddy reddish brown color. If you want to read through all the comments to find changes, feel free. But I tossed these and made Bobby Flay's version and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010 I made these cupcakes with a few additions and changes. I added 1/4 cup of vegetable oil, 1 tbsp of sour cream, 1 extra teaspoon of vanilla extract, and instead of 1/3 cup of cocoa, I used 1/2 cup of cocoa, and if you want a more vibrant red as opposed to a chocolatey red, add 2 ounces of red food coloring. In my opinion, these cupcakes were perfectly moist, deliously flavored, and beautifully red!! A definate must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
They taste like chocolate cupcakes more than anything else.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This recipe was easy for a beginner to make, although not very satisfying. Definitely too chocolatey even though I only used a fourth of a cup instead of a third of the cocoa powder. Also the coloring was more of a brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States