Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
These turned out perfect. I used cake flour and they tasted just like you buy in the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brinnon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I followed this recipe with the additions that Shawn suggested and the batter is WONDERFUL! It did come out a dark garnet with the 2oz of coloring so I would try it again with only 1. The additions of veg oil and sour cream were great! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This recipe is great! I didn't have buttermilk so I had to use a substitute but other than that I followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out great, my family loved it, it was a nice red color, light and fluffy and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These came out great! I also did not have buttermilk so substituted using one tbsp. of white vinegar and app. one cup of milk and it worked perfectly. I did not need to add any cream. Just let the vinegar and milk sit for about 5 minutes after you mix them before adding to mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talitha Bresette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These were absolutely delish and super easy. My kids ate them all up and even agreed that they were as good or even better than the ones at the cupcake shops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I couldn't get enough of these. They turned out great and the color was a rich red a must for red velvet. I topped them with a simple cream cheese frosting and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moab, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This doesn't taste like a red velvet cake-didn't really taste like much at all. Tried making it as the recipe called for then re-made it cutting down the cocoa...neither one worked out. Texture was nice and spongy on both but all the red velvet cakes I have ever had/baked were much denser and used oil instead of butter. I guess I will stick to my grandma's old tried and trusted OU Red Velvet cake. Too bad it is a pain in the rear to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Cupcakes taste awesome!! Only thing I found there was too much cocoa, therefore they were not as red as I thought they would be, from talking to friends, and hearing they're recipes for red velvet cupcakes, it seems there is more cocoa in this recipe than most. Taste was very good though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This cupcake tastes nothing at all like red velvet cupcakes I have had/made in the past. I had to put a ton of frostin gon them just to have flavor to eat them. Also, they were NOT read.. more a dark maroon color. Very heavy, not a light fluffy cake. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Thank you so much for this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by han

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States