Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
If you make this recipe with no changes it is not a Red Velvet cupcake recipe, it is a chocolate cake recipe with red food coloring (that still doesn't make the cupcakes red). Red Velvet should be much more delicate with a hint of chocolate flavor. The batter is very heavy and the cakes are dense and a muddy reddish brown color. If you want to read through all the comments to find changes, feel free. But I tossed these and made Bobby Flay's version and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010 I made these cupcakes with a few additions and changes. I added 1/4 cup of vegetable oil, 1 tbsp of sour cream, 1 extra teaspoon of vanilla extract, and instead of 1/3 cup of cocoa, I used 1/2 cup of cocoa, and if you want a more vibrant red as opposed to a chocolatey red, add 2 ounces of red food coloring. In my opinion, these cupcakes were perfectly moist, deliously flavored, and beautifully red!! A definate must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
They taste like chocolate cupcakes more than anything else.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This recipe was easy for a beginner to make, although not very satisfying. Definitely too chocolatey even though I only used a fourth of a cup instead of a third of the cocoa powder. Also the coloring was more of a brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kcoooorey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I found this recipe a bit dry and dense. Not fluffy as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made these cupcakes with a few additions and changes. I added 1/4 cup of vegetable oil, 1 tbsp of sour cream, 1 extra teaspoon of vanilla extract, and instead of 1/3 cup of cocoa, I used 1/2 cup of cocoa, and if you want a more vibrant red as opposed to a chocolatey red, add 2 ounces of red food coloring. In my opinion, these cupcakes were perfectly moist, deliously flavored, and beautifully red!! A definate must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
WOW! Couldn't be more pleased, really! I was very happy with the taste and texture of these - I didn't think I was a fan of red velvet (if you're gonna eat chocolate, eat chocolate, right?!?!) Well, I made basically this recipe--used cake flour and only 2T cocoa. Frosted with 8oz cream cheese 2oz butter 1.5c powdered sugar Pinch of salt & vanilla... **AMAZING**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These are fabulous and the entire family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMARASUE2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemlock, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Very moist and tasted great. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States