Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This doesn't taste like a red velvet cake-didn't really taste like much at all. Tried making it as the recipe called for then re-made it cutting down the cocoa...neither one worked out. Texture was nice and spongy on both but all the red velvet cakes I have ever had/baked were much denser and used oil instead of butter. I guess I will stick to my grandma's old tried and trusted OU Red Velvet cake. Too bad it is a pain in the rear to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Cupcakes taste awesome!! Only thing I found there was too much cocoa, therefore they were not as red as I thought they would be, from talking to friends, and hearing they're recipes for red velvet cupcakes, it seems there is more cocoa in this recipe than most. Taste was very good though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This cupcake tastes nothing at all like red velvet cupcakes I have had/made in the past. I had to put a ton of frostin gon them just to have flavor to eat them. Also, they were NOT read.. more a dark maroon color. Very heavy, not a light fluffy cake. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Thank you so much for this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by han

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Very easy recipe to follow and they tasted great the day that I made them but the next day they were as dry as sand paper. I don't know if I did something wrong, I'm pretty sure I didn't. But this was no good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is my go to recipe for red velvet. Pair it with the Cream Cheese II recipe and it's a recipe for success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
this is very good yum!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I made these for my friend's birthday. It was a big hit. The cream cheese frosting from this site compliments it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe doesn't scale well. I moved to 24 servings and it was dry as a bone and the flavor shifted a bit from the time that I made it before. I'm not sure what happened because the 20 count recipe does work well. I would probably add a bit more buttermilk or a tablespoon of canola oil to the recipe to get it a bit more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I thought these were pretty plain. I didn't use the food coloring, but the taste was pretty bland because of all the cocoa powder. And they definitely need a homemade cream cheese frosting, the canned kind simply will not do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States