Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
These taste fantastic, I just have trouble getting them to come out red. The batter looks red in the bowl and as soon as they start baking it turns brown. I'm pretty sure that's me though. I used 1/2 cup of confectioner's sugar and 1 cup of white because I ran out of white sugar. (worked great), and I used 1tsp pf vinegar + 1/2 cup of milk instead of the buttermilk. I got 18 out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Renae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monicaha
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I like this recipe because it wasn't too sweet. I cut the recipe in half, so that may have affected it. It was good! For the icing, I may keep trying out the quantities for the ingredients because mine came out a little too watery, I would've liked it to be thicker/stiffer for ease icing the tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
not great but not bad either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Loved it! The cupcakes were moist & delicious. My boyfriend, who's never had red velvet before, said they were amazing!! Will be making these again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Pretty Good! Easy to Make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
these are wonderful! If you put the vinegar in on top of the baking soda, it fizzes up and they turn out fluffy and delicious, like trampolines for your fingers!!!! I used gel food coloring, and my cupcakes turned kinda pink on the inside, like steak. i didn't even bother to put icing on them and they were still delicious!!!!!!!! Make these!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This recipe was not too difficult to make, however the end result was not what I expected. I made a dozen cupcakes and 10 mini cupcakes with the batter I had left. They all turned out flat and fell appart when I took them out of the mini cupcake pan. When putting in the batter to the regular sized cupcakes, fill it up at least half way because it overflows! All in all, I probably won't be making this recipe again. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Good recipe and easy to follow. I wanted my cupcakes larger but was still able to get about 21 cupcakes from this batter. Next time I will try swapping out the butter with applesauce for a low fat version and a little less cocoa powder (maybe a 1/4 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graphista

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I brought these to school for my friend's birthday, and mine were gone in a flash! I didn't have a large cupcake pan so I used a mini muffin pan and it worked fine. After putting in the food coloring I thought it wasn't dark enough so I added more and the cupcakes ended up being a dark red but were tasty nonetheless. I highly recomend! They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States