Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
the amount of red coloring gives a wierd after taste... also the color in the photo is off.. ive been baking for many years and i only kind of like this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CrondaT
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
These are a hit when ever I bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Delicious!!!! The kids loved them!!! I'll b making these cupcakes for my wedding:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrownEyedGirl77
Home Town: Cornelius, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made these for Thanksgiving (Cdn) and they were amazing. Better than anything that could have come out of a box. Thank you very much for posting this recipe. It was really easy to follow too thankfully because I am by no means a baker. Again thanks for posting a recipe that made my Thanksgiving just that much more special. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Good cupcakes! Instead of a fluid ounce of food coloring I put in about 2 tbsp. of concentrated paste, which gave me a really nice red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I just made this cake and haven't tasted it yet, but I think everyone might be right about there being too much cocoa powder. My cake is definitely more brown than it is red. I was disappointed. But they smell delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I freaked out when I realized my buttermilk was expired! I had to substitute heavy whipping cream. The cupcakes turned out moist and delicious though, don't know how recipe would turn out if I used buttermilk. Awesome recipe though, I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This recipe didn't work out for me AT ALL! I don't know what went wrong! Edit: I actually end up really loving it!!! I reviewed too soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLStewart2009
Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by noahsmum
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Yuuuuummmmm....My first attempt at red velvet. I was a little concerned at how lumpy it seems at one point, but everything works out in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noahsmum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Good, adaptable recipe. I substituted 1/4 white sugar for packed brown sugar. I also ran out of buttermilk so I made my own. I substituted half of the butter for canola oil and I doubled the vanilla. I think it would have been plain had I not used some brown sugar and more vanilla. Housemates gobbled them up before I could frost...need I say more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States