Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I have been using a Recipe for red velvet cake that has been good, but not great. This recipe is moist and chocolatey and is perfect the way it is. No need to change a thing! This is my new go-to for red velvet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is my first time making red velvet cupcakes! I followed the recipe and it came out perfectly! I made them as mini cupcakes. This recipe makes about 70! I only had to bake them for 15 minutes! Everyone loved it! They were all gone! I topped them with Jenni Cream Cheese Frosting II
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made it exactly as is and my whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I TELL YOU ON SUNDAY. I NEED THEM ON TUESDAY, FOR MY PATCHWORK CLASS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
By far my favorite cupcake recipe! I use it for everything! I don't put red food coloring in because I don't find it necessary and I make my own buttermilk with 1 cup of milk and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice. Everyone loves them and they're perfect for school bake sales, birthdays and just for fun. A very simple and great recipe. Goes great with strawberry cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I kind of found these just okay. I added the amount of food coloring as recommended but the muffins ended up brown instead of red. I'm not sure if I was expecting something different perhaps, but the flavor was nothing special. The icing I put on them added the extra kick they needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Yet another supposed slow cooker recipe that does not use a slow cooker. I'm considering unsubscribing from the AllRecipes Slow Cooker newsletter, since I now have trouble getting a recipe there that actually uses a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Pavilkey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Instead of cream cheese frosting, I use the original frosting recipe, which is: 1 cup milk mixed with 3 tablespoons flour and a dash of salt; cook until bubbly and thick; let cool. Meanwhile, mix 1 cup sugar and 1 cup butter; beat until smooth, approximately 7 minutes; add cooled flour mixture a little at a time, until all is incorporated. Add 1 tsp. vanilla. Frost cake or cupcakes as usual. This recipe makes enough frosting for 36 cupcakes or one regular cake. Everybody wants this frosting on my red velvet cakes/cupcakes. Even my picky son-in-law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Been making these for years, and put a maraschino cherry on top before baking, ends up in the middle for nice surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Use less coco powder and I also did not use any vinegar. If you have any extra- add some more coco powder(mix well) put it in a sqaire pan and make brownies!! Whenever I make this recipe I aways add extra to make brownies and they taste great!(makes good brownie cake too??)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States