Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have found this to be one of my go-to recipes and get so many compliments on them. I top with the Cream Cheese Frosting II. Simply the best combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
LOVED it, and was loved by all that ate it! I omitted the cool whip and did not pipe into cupcakes based on reviews and then had to make 1/3 of another batch to frosting to cover all the cupcakes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made this into a layer cake. The frosting was a lot, but I didn't use it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Literally after one bite, my college freshman son asked for a batch of these to take back to his dorm the same day. I left out the Cool Whip entirely and only used half as much sugar in the frosting. These were a huge hit at my Easter dinner. This recipe has become at instant family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great recipe! My family loved these. I am not a fan of cream cheese icing and I even loved the icing and the cupcakes came out very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wade.Lam
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Made theses cupcakes for a friend's birthday, as per the recipe, and was very impressed. They were super moist and chocolatey. Rather than bother with the "from-scratch" icing, I used Cool Whip's new whipped cream cheese frosting (in the freezer section), which made them really phenomenal. For a professional look, I garnished them with clear crystallized sugar sprinkles, and they were almost too pretty to eat. I, myself, look for recipes that taste at least semi-homemade, as my busy life does not allow the time to make everything from scratch. These fit the bill! A DEFINITE KEEPER! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wade.Lam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I have never been a true fan of red velvet cakes but I decided to make these for a coworker's birthday. The addition of the chocolate pudding mix changed the flavor of the cake mix slightly and made the cupcakes so moist! I sometimes find cream cheese frostings very heavy but this one was so light and delicious!! After reading some of the reviews, I made sure to defrost the coolwhip in the fridge and only added 3/4 the amount of powdered sugar the icing called for and it was plenty sweet and not at all runny. This recipe (with a minor change in the icing sugar amount) may just have made me a believer in red velvet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thibodaux, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Best cupcakes I have ever made. I brought them into work for the holidays, and everyone LOVED them. The frosting is perfect. I added tiny red and green sprinkles to the top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was an amazing recipe that I made for a dessert after a chicken dinner. The cupcakes came out, and after I put the icing on, I took a bite, and the top of the cupcake was perfect, and the center of the cupcake was moist and DELICIOUS. I used Duckin Hines cake mix, and everything turned out great!!! 5 STARS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States