Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
These cupcakes were delicious and moist. The pudding added to the recipe. I also used strong, brewed coffee instead of place of water. For the frosting, I mixed the store-bought "cream cheese" frosting (which is too sweet) with real cream cheese. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ta2kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Centro, California, USA
Living In: Desert Hot Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jesasaur
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
The cake is rlly soft and moist, and tastes more like a chocolate cake until u refrigerate them. Also the icing is very sugary, use it sparingly or ull get overwhelmed by the sugar. Good recipe! yumm * I refrigerated the cupcakes and they taste way better! * chill the icing in the freezer before putting it on the cupcakes! it makes it thicker...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesasaur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Won't use the icing again -too runny. Nothing I did made it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
These are really good! I didn't use all the powdered sugar, I did it by taste, I just kept adding until it was sweet enough for me. I love the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Easy to make, easy ingredients, turned out really well!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made it according to the recipe but put it in a heart-shaped cake pan. Very good and festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Made this for my son's birthday yesterday. Turned out to be such a hit there are only 4 left today!!! Fantastic... made it just the way the recipe said... Did not taste like cool whip... however the frosting was thin for the top... we just dipped them instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Happybaker
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Couldn't be happier with this recipe. The best red velvet cupcakes i've ever had... plus so easy to make. My frosting was not runny like other reviews mentioned. Just make sure the cream cheese and butter are not too soft before you make the frosting. Also, thaw the cool whip in the fridge and not in room temp. I also reduced the amount of sugar because we do not like very sweet frosting. If you like smaller cupcakes, this recipe can be made into 30 cupcakes instead of 24. Just reduce the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This recipe is super easy and tastes awesome!! I've never added the shaved white chocolate on top, but I have made them several times and enjoy them every time. Highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I chose this cupcake because it got such good ratings but I was very disappointed to say the least. The cupcake itself was just cake mix and pudding. Ok cool. So the rest of the ingredients were for this supposedly amazing frosting. Once I fed all my roommates, we all were sick! There is a ton of raw butter and (literally) a pound of sugar. Also, it was runny so hard to even put on the cupcakes. Definitely not worth the calories nor effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States