Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I don't know what it is about adding a box of pudding to a Red Velvet cake mix that makes these so wonderful but it works for me! I made these cupcakes for my boss's surprise retirement lunch. I used my favorite cream cheese recipe from here with 2-8oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup butter, vanilla and powdered sugar. I piped some in the cupcakes (added extra red food coloring) and make the swirly on top and used clear decorator sugar to sprinkle on top. They not only look professional; they taste professional. This will be my go-to recipe for RV cuppy cakes from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
My daughter has made this several times for her friends at school (High school) and it is always a favorite. Easy to make, very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I love this recipe! The frosting is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I just made these awesome cupcakes! Typically my thoughts on red velvet are too dry or too rich. These were perfect. The only adjustment I made was adding a tad more oil to the cake mix recipe to balance out the extra dry ingredient (pudding mix). This cupcake and icing combo... Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamawyso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was a really good recipe. Couldn't find any white chocolate little stuff for top so we used white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiowana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Made this as a full on cake recipe just yesterday and threw it out. I'm a baker/cake decorator and thought to use a new recipe to see how it would turn out. It's ok as a starter recipe, but definitely needs a lot more tweeking before I can honeslty call it "Delicious!". It was a bit blah/imitation tasting and lacked that genuine red velvety goodness (those who have actually had a fabulous red velvet cake know what I mean). I would have to agree with another reviewer who said that the boxed red velvet cake mix is much better than this one. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My family loved them. Didn't add the cool whip to the frosting it was still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Excellent, moist, easy cupcakes. The only change I made was due to the fact that when I made the frosting, I realized I didn't have any Cool Whip. So I just made a traditional cream cheese frosting. It was perfect, and everyone loved these cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
don't overbake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Very good & very moist! Big hit at a fundraiser at my husbands work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi668

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States