Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I don't know what it is about adding a box of pudding to a Red Velvet cake mix that makes these so wonderful but it works for me! I made these cupcakes for my boss's surprise retirement lunch. I used my favorite cream cheese recipe from here with 2-8oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup butter, vanilla and powdered sugar. I piped some in the cupcakes (added extra red food coloring) and make the swirly on top and used clear decorator sugar to sprinkle on top. They not only look professional; they taste professional. This will be my go-to recipe for RV cuppy cakes from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
My daughter has made this several times for her friends at school (High school) and it is always a favorite. Easy to make, very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I love this recipe! The frosting is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I just made these awesome cupcakes! Typically my thoughts on red velvet are too dry or too rich. These were perfect. The only adjustment I made was adding a tad more oil to the cake mix recipe to balance out the extra dry ingredient (pudding mix). This cupcake and icing combo... Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamawyso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was a really good recipe. Couldn't find any white chocolate little stuff for top so we used white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiowana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Made this as a full on cake recipe just yesterday and threw it out. I'm a baker/cake decorator and thought to use a new recipe to see how it would turn out. It's ok as a starter recipe, but definitely needs a lot more tweeking before I can honeslty call it "Delicious!". It was a bit blah/imitation tasting and lacked that genuine red velvety goodness (those who have actually had a fabulous red velvet cake know what I mean). I would have to agree with another reviewer who said that the boxed red velvet cake mix is much better than this one. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My family loved them. Didn't add the cool whip to the frosting it was still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Excellent, moist, easy cupcakes. The only change I made was due to the fact that when I made the frosting, I realized I didn't have any Cool Whip. So I just made a traditional cream cheese frosting. It was perfect, and everyone loved these cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
don't overbake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Very good & very moist! Big hit at a fundraiser at my husbands work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi668

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States