Red Velvet Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Made this for a birthday celebration. I did a trial run first and learned a little--I put the filling in a decorator bag and used a large tip to pipe the filling inside the cupcakes--worked better than trying to shove a plastic bag into the center of the cupcake. I found the filling a little runny to frost the cakes, so the second time I made it, I used my leftover filling for the center and made more to frost the cupcakes, but omitted the cool whip in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
The cupcakes came out great (I used Duncan Hines red velvet cake mix). The frosting on the otherhand we didn't care for. The Cool Whip over powered the cream cheese and made it taste like Cool Whip . I scrapped the Cool Whip and made the recipe with double the cream cheese and butter, and added powdered sugar to taste. Then it was fantastic. Don't use the Cool Whip unless you like Cool Whip flavored frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iGreenSodaPop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I chose this cupcake because it got such good ratings but I was very disappointed to say the least. The cupcake itself was just cake mix and pudding. Ok cool. So the rest of the ingredients were for this supposedly amazing frosting. Once I fed all my roommates, we all were sick! There is a ton of raw butter and (literally) a pound of sugar. Also, it was runny so hard to even put on the cupcakes. Definitely not worth the calories nor effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I think these may have been some of the best cupcakes i've ever eaten! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I was going to post my own version of red velvet cupcakes, but these are way better than mine! They were delicious! And I am a Red velvet cupcake freak, these were some of the best i've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessCookie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Happybaker
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Couldn't be happier with this recipe. The best red velvet cupcakes i've ever had... plus so easy to make. My frosting was not runny like other reviews mentioned. Just make sure the cream cheese and butter are not too soft before you make the frosting. Also, thaw the cool whip in the fridge and not in room temp. I also reduced the amount of sugar because we do not like very sweet frosting. If you like smaller cupcakes, this recipe can be made into 30 cupcakes instead of 24. Just reduce the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
three words: I LOVE THIS!!!! the frosting was awesome, although i didn't put in a whole box of powdered sugar. i just kept pouring in a little and mixing it until i thought it was sweet enough also, the frosting freezes well, i had a lot left over because i didn't pipe some in the middle, so i just put it in a plastic container and left it in the freezer for three months, and when i remembered it, i took it out and it still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I didn't fill the center with the frosting and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I just made these awesome cupcakes! Typically my thoughts on red velvet are too dry or too rich. These were perfect. The only adjustment I made was adding a tad more oil to the cake mix recipe to balance out the extra dry ingredient (pudding mix). This cupcake and icing combo... Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamawyso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Made this for my son's birthday yesterday. Turned out to be such a hit there are only 4 left today!!! Fantastic... made it just the way the recipe said... Did not taste like cool whip... however the frosting was thin for the top... we just dipped them instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States