Red Velvet Crinkle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I used this recipe but used double fudge chocolate cake. It turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
These are amazing and easy to make cookies! I strongly recommend them. No changes made just as is. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
These were fantastic! The only thing I changed was using lemon extract instead of the zest. I didn't measure it, just dribbled some into the bowl. Everyone loved them and they disappeared so quickly - I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euphorixlost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was AMAZING! I gave them to my family. they loved them and I know that if you get the betty crocker red velvet cake mix it will show you the same exact recipe, therefore WE LOVED THEM and I will defenetly will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Everyone Loves this cookie. To make more decadent add 1 cup white chocolate chips fold into prepared batter. This white chocolate really makes a difference and brings these cookies to a level of pure indulgence! I also did with chocolate fudge cake mix and added 1 cup white chocolate and then placed a hersheys chocolate drop in center of each ball I call this a Triple chocolate cookie crinkle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
It turned out amazing! I rolled it in the powdered sugar and squished them and cooked for 11 mins. I took out the lemon zest (as I didnt have any lemons) and it was all good. A lot of extra powdered sugar though. Overall its amazing! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachael Adams
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Delicious and pretty. I think the temp could really be 350 as the box suggests opposed to 375, to ensure they don't overcook on the bottom of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
These were pretty good, loved the lemon zest in them. Also added 1cup of white chocolate chips into batter. Using a small melon baller for cookies, recipe makes about 2 dozen. Had quite a bit of powdered sugar mixture left. Baked cookies for 11min. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Needed to make 90 cookies for a Christmas Cookie exchange and decided to try these for a few reasons: pretty, tasty, and inexpensiveo make. I read the other reviews and decided to use the lemon zest anyway. Don't skip this part! It gives the cookie a plate-cleansing, bright flavor, but just a touch. You don't even need to use a full teaspon. Also, even though I doubled the recipe, I only got 45 cookies! I used a 1 inch melon baller. I suspect I bought the wrong box mix: so WARNING- make sure it is Duncan Hines CAKE and not Red Velvet CUPCAKE box mix. I guess the box mix would have had a bigger amount. BUT that all being said, the cookies turned out delicious and beautiful! Next time, I will use the rigt box mix! Oh. And these cookies ARE messy but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
These are perfect for Christmas! I confess that I changed the recipe a bit because I didn't have time for a dry run with it as written and I was looking for a plain rich chocolate flavor. My changes were simple - omitted lemon zest and wisked 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa into the dry ingredients and 1 tsp. vanilla extract in with the eggs. The result was the flavor I'd hoped for with a light cake texture. I'd prefer a slightly denser texture, but this can't be beat for for an easy, quick, from-a-mix recipe. Using a 1-inch melon ball scoop yielded a small cookie - perfect for cookie exchanges. Otherwise I would double the cookie size. The trick to the crackles is to roll the dough balls around until the confectioners sugar is thick and even all the way around. Be sure not to overbake or the cookies become too firm and dry. Very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States