Red Velvet Crinkle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
These are perfect for Christmas! I confess that I changed the recipe a bit because I didn't have time for a dry run with it as written and I was looking for a plain rich chocolate flavor. My changes were simple - omitted lemon zest and wisked 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa into the dry ingredients and 1 tsp. vanilla extract in with the eggs. The result was the flavor I'd hoped for with a light cake texture. I'd prefer a slightly denser texture, but this can't be beat for for an easy, quick, from-a-mix recipe. Using a 1-inch melon ball scoop yielded a small cookie - perfect for cookie exchanges. Otherwise I would double the cookie size. The trick to the crackles is to roll the dough balls around until the confectioners sugar is thick and even all the way around. Be sure not to overbake or the cookies become too firm and dry. Very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
These are amazing and easy to make cookies! I strongly recommend them. No changes made just as is. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Everyone Loves this cookie. To make more decadent add 1 cup white chocolate chips fold into prepared batter. This white chocolate really makes a difference and brings these cookies to a level of pure indulgence! I also did with chocolate fudge cake mix and added 1 cup white chocolate and then placed a hersheys chocolate drop in center of each ball I call this a Triple chocolate cookie crinkle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Made these into cutouts. Regardless of the size/thickness, the lemon zest is very off putting. And, there's no reason to put cornstarch into the powdered sugar. This is nothing like Panera's red velvet crinkle cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was AMAZING! I gave them to my family. they loved them and I know that if you get the betty crocker red velvet cake mix it will show you the same exact recipe, therefore WE LOVED THEM and I will defenetly will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
The cookies came out super moist and thats always huge plus. Although they were far from bad tasting, the flavor wasn't exceptional either. It's not a cookie you impress with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Skip the lemon zest and added white chocolate chips - they turned out great with a crunchy edge and chewy middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sky
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Great cookie recipe but I would recommend a couple of changes. Refrigerate the dough for a least 2 hours or overnight. There is no need to use any corn starch but roll a thick layer of powdered sugar on the dough balls. Lemon zest is optional depending on your taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
These cookies present so beautifully! I made them for a party, and they were really soft and tasty. I thought the dough was painfully thick, so I added another tablespoon of melted butter, which worked out great - the cookies didn't spread too much or anything. There was a lot of left over powered sugar left over, so I'd halve that in the future. Also, the lemon zest does have a nice flavor, makes it distinctly different from a chocolate crinkle cookie. I used a tablespoon to scoop out the cookies, and it yielded 34.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
These were pretty good, loved the lemon zest in them. Also added 1cup of white chocolate chips into batter. Using a small melon baller for cookies, recipe makes about 2 dozen. Had quite a bit of powdered sugar mixture left. Baked cookies for 11min. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States