Red Velvet Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I served these Red Velvet Cookies at the church baazar last week and they were such a pleasant surprise for everyone. I was given the "Best Cook" award for these tasty bits. I could not get the camera to work as I wanted to try uploading a picture of these on a nice 1940's plate but I had the camera turned around backwards and only took pictures of myself. But perhaps next time I will do it right. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
These are DIVINE! Any chocolate lover will go banana's for these! We did not have sour cream so we used vanilla yogurt instead, if we had to do this again instead of doing the 3/4 cup of yogurt we would of tried 1/2 cup as yogurt is more runny then sour cream so then we would not of had to add more flour to make these cookies the right consistency. These are so moist and delicious, and the cream cheese frosting is the bomb! Finally they were really red, we got red food coloring from Micheal's and it worked 100 times better then the red you buy in most grocery stores
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Wow- these are crazy good! I made my cookies twice as big and they were unbelievably soft and just perfect. I lined my baking pan with foil so I could have the cookies set once out of the oven and place the next batch right in the oven to waste precious baking time. Plus- no clean up afterwards:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I made these exactly per the instructions and they came out amazing! It's literally like eating a cookie with soft cake on the inside. Not sure how the reviewers managed to get really dry cookies, but it's now day 2 and they are still super moist. I stored them in a ziplock bag and only frost them when I'm ready to serve them on a platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marabean
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I imagined them to be moist, and probably like everyone, I expected them to melt in my mouth. The cookies tasted very flour'y' and course. I followed the recipe closely and used exact measurements but found not to be impressed by the outcome. If there's a next time, I would add more sugar about 1/2 cup instead of 1/3 cup and perhaps salted butter instead of unsalted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA
Photo by samiah
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This recipe is AWESOME. The consistency of the "cookie" is the perfect balance of red velvet cake moist-ness but the thicker texture of a soft cookie. The color was a beautiful red as well. The only adjustment we made was that we used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the squares of unsweetened baking chocolate. (My friend and I have a sweet tooth...) The cream cheese frosting goes perfectly with the cookie recipe. We stirred frozen raspberries into it which gave the frosting a pink color and a hint of tartness. Topped with some crushed walnuts and they were gone in NO TIME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This recipe did not turn out like I hoped. The cookies tasted flourly and not like red velvet at all. The only thing that gave them a little bit of taste was the frosting. I would not recommend this though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by safety309first

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I love red velvet cake, so when I stumbled on these I was thrilled! They are divine! The only thing I changed was to use chocolate chips instead of unsweetened baking chocolate bc I didn't have any. I made them for a coffee group and they were all gone in no time. I even had several people ask for the recipe. I made them a little large so I only got about 26 but then piped frosting on each. I also made them the night before and stored them in the refrigerator so that helped keep them moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamie2984

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These cookies really look and taste like red velvet cake. They have a very soft, cake-like consistency. The dough was a little sticky, and be careful not to touch it or you will turn your fingers red! I added some peppermint- white chocolate chips to make them a little Christmasy and then topped them with a white chocolate drizzle. Very festive looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsd1355

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Super yummy! Went for over $2.00 per cookie at the school bake sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States