Red Velvet Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Tasted just like the cake, with that icing. A big holiday hit - I thought they were better the day after - I chilled them in the icebox overnight, which gave them a firmer, more cookie-like consistency. Fresh baked, they are more cakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were like cake cookies. Really good cream cheese icing, but I didn't really feel that they tasted like red velvet cake specifically, just cake with cream cheese frosting. Overall good would recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
These are amazing! I made these today and they are soft, moist, and absolutely delicious. Mine did not turn out too floury or course, as other reviewers complained about. The sour cream was a nice touch, it made them richer. Mine baked for a little longer than 9 minutes, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Good cookies. Very cakey. Stayed moist for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Fish
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These cookies were so delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly! The only thing I did differently was the 2 squares of chocolate were semisweet instead of unsweetened. This is all I had and they turned not too sweet. I know the chocolate chips were optional but they really added that extra something special. They were everyone's favorite at my family New Year's celebration. Everyone raved about how moist and delicious they were. The frosting came out very light and not too sweet. A perfect topping for this awesome sweet treat! :) I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kreativess
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These were extremely moist and delicious cookies! The changes I made were using semi sweet baking chocolate (didnt have unsweetened), mini chocolate chips and also used only a couple teaspoons of the food coloring (generic from Target). They came out great and with good color, perfect for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Delicious! Cookie and icing are both fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly and everybody loved them. This definitely is a fun change from the traditional chocolate chip cookies we usually eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by my4pickles
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Thank you for a great cookie recipe! My 4 yr old son made this for a kids cookie contest and won 2nd place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I though with most reviews being good I would give it a try and like the other person mine were doughy not worth all the work. I was expecting them to be pretty good and it was a waste because I wont eat them and I love sweets so for me to say that says alot. Waste of time and money
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
YES. very flour-y in flavor. I tasted the dough beforehand and had to make adjustments (added some more oil, sugar and salt) the icing was awful for me. needs much more extract to flavor it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Law

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States