Red Velvet Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
These were good, they're like little, tiny, individual, red velvet cakes. I used Lorann Red Velvet emulsion instead of the red food coloring and vanilla. If you're not using the filling, you'll probably want to add about 1/2 cup more sugar, they're not quite sweet enough on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
These tasted like red flour. I made the "dawns easy red velvet sandwich cookies" those turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney24
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These are so delicious and the perfect cookie to make around Christmas! The cream cheese frosting makes this cookie even more delicious than it already is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baking in il
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I make these every year. My cookies turn out moist and delicious each time. I am surprised that some people found them dry. Every time I bring these to work, I get several requests for the recipe. Red velvet is not supposed to have an overpowering chocolate note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I have to agree with other reviewers that have said these were very dry and flour-y. The Red Velvet flavor was fairly strong but the texture was all off too, they were more fluffy more like Cakes than Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Awesome cookie and frosting recipe...took to work for a holiday gathering and received great reviews!!!! Will be permanent cookie in my house!! It combined my love of red velvet cake and cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Awesome recipe. I have three cookie exchanges at the holiday season so I'm always looking for cookie ideas. My husband thinks this is "the cookie of the year". I did use salted butter and substituted semi-sweet choc chips instead of baking choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I haven't made these yet but, I wonder if, instead of sour cream, you could use plain, non-fat, Greek yogurt? It's about the same consistency...it would boost the protein content and reduce the fat and calories, making them slightly healthier ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These were actually quite easy to make and they tasted just like red velvet cake :) I thought the cookie had a great consistency and was really moist. I didn't have any sour cream at my house, so I substituted with vanilla yogurt instead, and it works perfectly fine. The frosting is also great, very creamy and excellent tasting. I will definitely be making these cookies again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Awesome cookies! Everyone in my family and co-workers loved it.I didn't pack the brown sugar and the sweetness was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make little versions of this classic cake.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States