Red Velvet Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This cookies are amazing! I definitely recommend putting the dough in the refrigerator for about an hour before baking. (If not you will end up with red hands and a gooey mess!) Press them down for a more cookie-like feel instead of a "cakie." I topped them with a homemade cream cheese frosting and dark chocolate shavings. They were beautiful and delicious! I plan on making them again for another Christmas gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Delicious flavor, but they did not cook evenly, so i pressed (flattened) the second tray and they came out perfectly. I will deffinatley make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimi_dezignz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
We're on batch #3. :) After the first one, I added an extra teaspoon each of butter and sour cream and chilled the dough before baking. I flattened the balls slightly since they were pretty firm. If you didn't like these, you baked them too long or didn't mix it well. This is the best cookie recipe of the season. I added green color to the frosting to make them Christmas-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.chlarson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Super easy and good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I thought these cookies were very good. Mine came out perfect. I watched the timing on these because I did not want them to overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These are very easy and so good! They came out pretty small for me... and instead of chopped nuts on top I just put half of a pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I make red velvet cookies ALL the time and I always get asked for more! However I use a much simpler and easier recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Awesome recipe, very easy to make and very yummy!! I used homemade cream cheese frosting and skipped the nuts (due to allergies) and all three of my children (they are 4, 19, and 21) loved them!! In fact I had to hide them so that I'll have them for my cookie trays :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
very good and simple. used a real cream cheese frosting recipe instead of buying frosting which i think makes a big difference. left off the nuts and topped with multi colored sprinkles for Christmas. will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These cookies are AMAZING!! I found the dough sticky and had to used flour on my hands. But other then that the best cookies I have ever had. So so very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States