Red Velvet Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This cookies are amazing! I definitely recommend putting the dough in the refrigerator for about an hour before baking. (If not you will end up with red hands and a gooey mess!) Press them down for a more cookie-like feel instead of a "cakie." I topped them with a homemade cream cheese frosting and dark chocolate shavings. They were beautiful and delicious! I plan on making them again for another Christmas gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
Photo by dms036
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made these for a party and were an absolute hit. My only advice to others (given some of the less than stellar reviews) is NOT to overbake. Cookies are moist, chocolately and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dms036

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Delicious flavor, but they did not cook evenly, so i pressed (flattened) the second tray and they came out perfectly. I will deffinatley make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimi_dezignz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Awesome recipe, very easy to make and very yummy!! I used homemade cream cheese frosting and skipped the nuts (due to allergies) and all three of my children (they are 4, 19, and 21) loved them!! In fact I had to hide them so that I'll have them for my cookie trays :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I am not impressed with this one at all. Actually, we just threw the rest of the batch away. Hate to say it.... I followed the recipe just as it was written out but the cookies just tasted dry and the cocoa flavor was a bit over powering. I might have been expecting a bit much wanting a piece of red velvet in a cookie, but I just couldn't seem to get the red velvet flavor from this one. I would not recommend this, Sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjsandy2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
We're on batch #3. :) After the first one, I added an extra teaspoon each of butter and sour cream and chilled the dough before baking. I flattened the balls slightly since they were pretty firm. If you didn't like these, you baked them too long or didn't mix it well. This is the best cookie recipe of the season. I added green color to the frosting to make them Christmas-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.chlarson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I really hoped this recipe was going to live up to my expectations. I was hoping for more of a red velvet cake like cookie. I agree with another member who said the cocoa flavor was a bit overpowering. Other than that, there wasn't much flavor. They weren't overcooked either, so I know it wasn't the problem. I made these for a pot luck Christmas party. They weren't the biggest hit at the party. I only made one batch, and after a party of about 40 people, I still had about 1/3 of the batch left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi
Home Town: Brandon, Texas, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I make red velvet cookies ALL the time and I always get asked for more! However I use a much simpler and easier recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These are very easy and so good! They came out pretty small for me... and instead of chopped nuts on top I just put half of a pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very easy and pretty but not much flavor. They don't taste bad, they just have very little taste. I think with some minor adjustments they could be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Choudrant, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Simsboro, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States