Red Velvet Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious and easy. I followed the recipe as written except used the Andes peppermint chips as a topping instead of nuts, just for a Christmas touch. This will be a repeat for me; I plan to use the recipe over and over. Makes a dressy cookie for gifts, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Kansas, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made these cookies and brought them to work and they were a hit. Some people said they were expecting more "red velvet" in these cookies, and I think if you want real red velvet just make a cake. Cookies are completely different. The only thing that makes these cookies red velvet is that they're red and they have a cocoa taste. I made them with cream cheese frosting and I decorated them with Christmas sprinkles and they turned out really well. I may not have cooked them long enough though becasue some of them kind of stuck to the baking sheet, but I really didn't want to accidentally burn any. The sugar cookie mix made these really easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These cookies are AMAZING!! I found the dough sticky and had to used flour on my hands. But other then that the best cookies I have ever had. So so very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
The dough is so sticky that even after chilling it for over an hour there was no way I could roll it into balls. I ended up just dropping spoonfulls on the cookie sheet. The end result tasted ok, but defintely not worth the mess. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These cookies turned out really great. I sprinkled them w/green sugar instead of nuts to make them festive for a Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashport, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Amazing! Baked for a cookie walk charity and will keep most of these for us. Pressed them down like others advised. My husband LOVES these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I didn't care for them. What got me on these were their consistency. They weren't cakey or cookiey (sp?) to me. I just don't know how to explain it. Very, extremely dense...maybe? The cocoa was a little stronger than what I was expecting but I could live with that. I knew I wasn't going to end up w/mini red velvet cakes, but, again, the consistency is what turned me off. Hubby loved them, 5 yr old didn't (but she's picky), 3 yr old loved the frosting (licked it all off his cookies lol). The recipe is SUPER easy and fast which is a plus. But I just don't know if I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
i am amending my origial review which is below.. i thought they were hopeless because out of the oven they are horrid rocks.. but i tossed them in a zip bag for about 3 days, they softened up and got a flavor.. my thoughts are the red food color and the 'mix' you make them with don't react well AT ALL.. making them bitter, flavorless, just sweet, very dry. hard round oyster crackers types after only 8 min in the oven at 375 NEW oven just like the directions.... didn't rise, didn't spread out at all,,, and frosting is too thin so no packing them up to take anywhere without all the frosting falling off.. sorry betty.. a good thought....so.. flatten before putting on cookie sheet because they don't budge.. and cool then store 2 days or so in an airtight bag or box. then frost and put in fridge.. i know this calls for a box mix, but make them from scratch instead since its not that much more work that all this.. . then canned frosting is still doable..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
We're on batch #3. :) After the first one, I added an extra teaspoon each of butter and sour cream and chilled the dough before baking. I flattened the balls slightly since they were pretty firm. If you didn't like these, you baked them too long or didn't mix it well. This is the best cookie recipe of the season. I added green color to the frosting to make them Christmas-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.chlarson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
very good and simple. used a real cream cheese frosting recipe instead of buying frosting which i think makes a big difference. left off the nuts and topped with multi colored sprinkles for Christmas. will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States