Red Velvet Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I made these cookies because my husband & brother-in-law LOVE Red Velvet cake. They were gone so fast from the cookie tray that no on else got a chance to try them!! The only change I did was I followed the advice of others & chilled the dough for an hour before rolling, I think it could be refrigerated longer, the dough was still a bit sticky. Also since it was a bit sticky, to avoid red hands I wore gloves (the type for medical use or deli workers are fine). I made some with nuts & some without because my nephew is allergic but who knew he never had a chance to try them. Sprinkling green sugar sounds like a good idea, I think I will try that with some from the next batch. The only reason I didn't give them a 5 star was because of how sticky the dough was to work with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Will defiantly be making these next christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Modo3000

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I flattened them out a bit before baking to create more of a cookie shape. Wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
These cookies are so delicious, and pretty easy to make. I took the suggestions of a few other reviewers, and it helped immensely. One thing I did was put the dough in the fridge for at least an hour before I baked them, unless you want uber-sticky dough and completely red hands afterward. Another suggestion I used was to flatten them slightly on the pan before I stuck them in the oven, which really helped to bake them evenly. Lastly, instead of nuts, I dark chocolate shavings on top. I thought it really added to the flavor of the cookie, and made them so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bondurant, Iowa, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I made these cookies for an event and got rave reviews. I felt guilty because they were so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Did not like. Would not make again and I usually love anything red velvet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I didn't like these cookies at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Buchholz
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I Just Made These Last Night And They Were AWESOME!!! I Will Totally Make These Again. ,I Had To Change The Cooking Time, The First Batch Came Out Burnt. But I Cut A Couple Of Mins Off And They Came Out Just Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Buchholz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Love these cookies. Quick and easy to fix. I keep batter frozen for when the cookie baking urge stikes me. These even made a big hit with my son-in-law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
My daughter loves red velvet cake, so I decided to try this recipe for our Christmas get together. Everyone really liked them. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States