Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This cake was great; I would just make sure to make three layers, not two. The rise is wonderful, but it domes more in two pans, and trimming wastes cake. Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensentwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I was very pleased with this recipe. I had never made a red velvet cake from scratch before and needless to say, I was quite nervous. It was very easy to make (though a bit time consuming), and it was a big hit on Mother's day. Side note: I thought 4 tablespoons of red food coloring was a bit much. I understand it is needed to make the classic red of a velvet cake, but I found that adding a bit of vegetable oil to the cocoa "paste" as you gradually mix in drops of food coloring, really alleviates the need to add so much food coloring. And you still get that nice, dark red color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin Riedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
The cake part was super easy and delicious. I'm addicted to the Cream Cheese Frosting II, so I used that instead of the frosting in this recipe. This is the second recipe for Red Velvet that I've tried, and this is much better than the first...no lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Wonderful! Loved the cake, loved the icing. I had no problems with dryness and the icing came together perfectly. Beautiful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I have never made a red velvet cake before, so I was going in blind. It turned out bad. I used the suggestions of the other reviewers and used oil instead of shortening. It made the cake cook soooo uneven. The bottom was perfect, the sides were over cooked, and the top was dough with an oil film on top. So I'm not sure what I did wrong, but I would love any suggestions. I would love to make this cake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I followed another reviewers advice w/ the following: A) Get the vinegar mixture into the batter quickly and gently and get it in the oven FAST. B) Start checking it with a toothpick 10 minutes before the given time and after that every 3 to 5 minutes until the toothpick comes out mostly clean. C) The flour paste for the frosting must be cooked until it forms a mound that stays in the middle of the pan, and it must be cooled to room temperature but never chilled. The butter and sugar must be beaten for at least 10 minutes before adding the flour paste, to eliminate sugar grit. Even after following all of these tips, it was still quite dry. Next time I will add a bit of oil and reduced the oven time. Oh, for the Superbowl, I dyed the top half red and the bottom half blue in honor of the Giants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
It tasted fine, but was really dry. I did everything according to the recipe (even used a brand new can of baking soda). I tested it 5 minutes before the time was up and it was very wet (stuck to toothpick like crazy). But after the last 5 minutes it was too well done. We ate it, and my boyfriend said he liked it, but I thought it was way too dry and dense. Will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
First, I want every one to know I'm a novice baker. I made this last night and I'm suprised it came out so well. The reason I say this is after the negativity I have read. I followed the suggestions of a reviewer. Let the rue, (if you will) cool before adding to the frosting and frost on a cool cake. It turned out okay. No runny or grit in my frosting. I also mixed the frosting mixture for at least 10 minutes before adding the rue. On the cake batter I made sure to fold the soda mixture and get it into the oven quickly. The cake was not dry. Made sure to not over cook by checking before time requirement. Will try again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was my 1st red velvet cake. It turned out really good but just a little dry. Just knowing how your oven is going to cook your cake is the key to the cake being moist. I didn't use the same icing because it didn't turn out very well, instead I used a crem cheese frosting. Everyone said it was really good but next time I plan to check the cake at least half way through the said time. But u can't expect it to come out perfect every time or on your 1st try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe is great. Although I'm a little confused on why it says to use white sugar instead of icing sugar for the frosting. While the taste for the frosting is amazing, I still have a litle grainy texture to it. I do beat it with a mixer for ten minutes. Could I use powerded sugar instead? And how much would I use? Again, great cake, just need a little help on the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States