Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is almost the exact recipe that has been part of our family holidays since 1945. we used a little less cocoa in ours. Our family cuts each cake to make 4 layers instead of 2 and the sides are not to be frosted. The frosting is very important. Please, Do Not Substitute Cream Cheese Frosting-- for this butter roux frosting. The cake tastes best if refrigerated a few hours before serving. It seems the frosting sets up better. Careful with the vinegar and soda, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
2 Suggestions: Been making this for decades, and instead of two 1-oz. bottles of coloring, I use one bottle, then fill it up again with milk and you won't even notice the difference. (And only 2-1/4 cups flour.) Second: To very nicely frost a 9-inch three-layer, use these amounts for the icing. 6-1/3 tablespoons flour; 1-1/4 cups *each* of milk, soft butter, and sugar; and 1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla. Just right! Oh, and the instructions on the icing are NONnegotiable (but easy), to turn out! I microwave the flour and milk in 1-min. intervals to a very thick paste whisking WELL after each, and it will thicken more when cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Great directions, ty for posting this! It was a hit this Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I've made this cake for Christmas every year for 10 years now, and it's always a huge hit! Some notes I've made over the years: *For the frosting, do not use a whisk for the flour and milk mixture. Stir it until the texture is a thick paste, like the consistency of mashed potatoes - about 10 minutes. Do let it cool completely before continuing with the frosting. *The frosting may not seem like a lot, but it is! I use some for a crumb layer and some for decorating. *This recipe makes approximately 22-24 cupcakes. For cupcakes, baking time = about 25 minutes. *For two 8" pans baking time = about 35 minutes. *For a bundt baking time = about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I got this recipe from my mother in law several years ago, way b4 the red velvet craze of the past couple of years. It is a Christmas tradtion in the whole family...and a birthday tradition now too. My kids always ask for this as their birthday cake, I just change the color to match their favorite color. Speaking for myself I make it better now then I did the first few times I made it. Yes, it requires following instructions that you are not familar with, but it's worth it and it sure beats a baked red velvet cake...which is bland and tasteless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Turned out really well....very moist. I used paste food colouring, so I added a bit more oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My husband loves this cake. Great frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I made this recipe for my daughter's 13th birthday. It was an instant hit with my family. I did double the icing recipe as recommended by others. I also made the cake on the weekend previous, sliced the layers and froze the cake, then I took it out of the freezer, prepared the icing and iced the cake the night before. She wants this again for her sleepover with some friends, but wants to try purple this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is the best tasting recipe i have made... I even changed the colouring to blue for a boys cake. It looked awesome. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
this recipe is wonderful. I did some modifications such as add up 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder and 1/2 cup of shortening, and the result was awesome.. it's darker and more moist..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States