Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
The taste was very good. I was a little disappointed that it used food coloring because I'm always looking for red velvet cakes that obtain their color from the cocoa. I had problems getting it to rise using the method described, and probably over folded it before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Delicious. I served this at a cook-out and everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly after reading the reviews. It was not too dense and tasted great. I will make it again with some applesauce or I'll take it out just a whisker earlier - I prefer very moist cake. The frosting was unusual to me, but tasted very good. I plan to try a vanilla buttercream for comparison. Thanks for sharing this-it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VDODDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made the some minor adjustments as recommended. The frosting was okay but I guess I'm more of a cream cheese frosting type of gal. The cake came out perfect. I used two bottles of the red food coloring (out of curiosity) and it cames out to a gorgeous deep red color. The cake looked like Christmas red against white frosting. I will definitely make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Glory Sison Crowell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Sorry, I even made this twice, but it was very dry and difficult to remove from the pan even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Soo wonderful. The cake was light and fluffy and absolutely delicious! I used water and beet juice instead of food coloring- it wasn't red but everyone still enjoyed it. The frosting was absolutely amazing. So light and buttery this is going to be my go-to red velvet cake recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
ive had much better cakes that took half of this much effort...good but nothing wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Thank you to everyone who posted their additions and changes to this recipe. I read reviews on each red velvet cake recipe stuck with this one. I actually used 1 cup of veg oil and used 3 1/2 tablespoons of cocoa. I did check the cake every three minutes for the last 10 minutes. The middle of the cake still wasn't done all the way, so next time I will leave it in a little longer. The cake was very moist and oohhh so yummy. I love to bake and for my very first time making this, it was beyond good. Can't wait for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This cake is AWESOME! I had never made red velvet from scratch before and it was absolutely delicious. My husband is not a big fan of cakes but this rocked his world. The icing sounded like too much work so I used Cream cheese frosting II instead and served it after a few hours in the fridge. Before serving I added shaved white chocolate and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I made a few red velvet cakes before from allrecipes.com, and all of them works. but not this one: it came out is soggy and didnt hold together and crumbs so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
a Great cake not that well known in the uk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States