Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Great recipe! I omit the red dye to make it a plain chocolate cake. I know it kind of defeats the purpose, since it's RED velvet cake, but my husband loves this cake and is allergic to red dye. Now he can enjoy as much as he likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This cake is awsome! Thank you Eleanor. This is the 1st time I've ever made a scratch cake, and it's for someone else! I made it in a cross pan, so a little extra cooking time was required. I read all reviews,Kristin's being the most helpful, thank you. I used Ghirardelli's cocoa which has a fuller flavor. When I leveled the cake and ate the pieces that were cut, WOW! My husband and Grandson also tried them. Now, it's 12:45am. I'm getting ready to decorate the one cake and have another in the oven for us! The reason I gave it only 4 stars is because it is some what complicated, and without help from Kristin, I probley never would of succeded at it. But I did follow the recipe exactly. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very Good Cake! I made this for my dad's 65th birthday, because its his favorite flavor cake. And he was very very happy! Behaved like a little kid when he asked for more. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
finicky recipe! the first time I made it, it came out great. I cant remember if I subbed the shortening for butter. maybe that's why. the second time I made it, it was good but not as good as I remembered the first time. third time I tried it, I cut the recipe in half and it came out horribly, literally had to toss it in the trash! all I can say is that I'd rather try a recipe that is more reliable and a little less dependent on the steps. also the 1st time I tried it, I tried to follow the icing recipe and it was a disaster! this recipe isn't exactly healthy either. it's better to stay away and try a different recipe instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
My family and ALL my friends LOVE this cake. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
My only complaint against this recipe is the same as a few prior to me - the cake lacks flavour. As far as the cake structure goes I give it 5 stars it was moist and fluffy. I am new to the baking world and I found the recipe to be easy and well worded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Made recipe exactly as stated and got a beautiful, and deliciously moist cake and cupcakes. The cakes rose beautifully also. I also made the frosting and it was so yummy. I am just sad that it won't hold up to hot temps. Beautiful and delicious cake. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassyb

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Roseau, Saint George Parish, Dominica
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
One of the best cakes of any kind I've ever had! The frosting is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Very good, time consuming. Did directions as says. Did the changes people sais using oil insteac of shortning, 4 table spoones coco, I used 1/2 oz food dye and added water to paste, made my own butter milk with milk and lemon, I used rice vinager cause i didn't have regular and online they said its sweeter. Other then that it turned out amazing. As i went along I tasted the batter and it taste and smell bad. However the finished product fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This cake was moist, but boring. It had very little flavor and lacked the richness of traditional red velvet cakes. The frosting was also quite odd. The flour made it almost paste-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States