Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
It was a bit dry, and crumbled a lot, but that could have been baker error. The frosting was delicious and easy; I'll definitely make it again, for different cakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out great. It is some work but the comments of the other cooks helped. I will reiterate the most important ones. Don't overcook the cake, if in doubt, take it out. The flour and milk must be heated to at least 185 degrees but it doesn't hurt to bring it to a simmer and, if you don't want a flour taste, it should be cooked for 20 minutes. Everything absolutely needs to be at room temperature before the icing is made and the cake iced. I used organic sugar and Irish butter and the icing was a little grainy and yellow. OK since I was making green velvet cake but I would recommend white superfine sugar for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Best cake ever! It was moist and a combination of moist and dense. The only thing I would change is to bake it for 20 minutes not 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I've just made this cake for Valentine's Day. I did struggle with the icing which hasn't turned out as I had hoped. I let the flour-milk combo cool thoroughly, but my icing tastes like plastic and isn't stiff and fluffy. I added some powdered sugar to stiffen it but it still has that look of butter separating. I've popped it in the fridge to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This recipe was the worst I've ever had. I was counting on it to be one of my cakes for a school fundraiser, and it failed me. First of all, all of the red food coloring overpowered it. Second of all, I took me 2 hours to get it out of the pan, AND IT STUCK TO THE BOTTOM! I greased and flowered it. Plus the bottom was really wet. Sorry, but it's the truth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
This is an excellent and easy cake to bake. You have to be careful to FOLD in the soda and vinegar. The only concern I have is how long to cook the milk and flour for the frosting: til it's as thick as mayonnaise? as thick as peanut butter? as thick as fudge? I do it by guess and by golly and it works, but it would be good to know a specific thickness. A good substitute for buttermilk: 1 tablespoon of white vinegar into a one cup liquid measure. Add milk to the one cup line. Wait for five minutes. And with that little substitution I have everything I need without special trips to the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Bitter and salty recipe????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Holy cow...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KnitChick
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Yummm! The only red velvet cake I'd made before was from a box, so I was not looking forward to making another red velvet cake when our Thanksgiving guest requested one. This cake was DIVINE! He, and everyone else, LOVES it! It's the next morning as I'm writing this and I've already had 3 slices of it. It won't last through the night ;) I followed top reviewer Kristen's suggestions and that really helped me out. The frosting definitely reminds me and my husband of cool whip, just a smidge bit more dense. I want to try a cream cheese frosting next, but this is really great as is. I will make this again and recommend the recipe to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KnitChick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States