Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I think I might have messed up with this cake. It was dry. I followed all of the directions and some of the reviewers suggestions trying to do everything correctly, but failed to check my cake for doneness before the 30 minutes. I took the cake out at exactly 30 minutes (was so scared that if I checked and it wasn't done - my checking would result in a fallen cake as I read about somewhere else)! Anyway, my cake was dry. :-( The flavor was good and the icing was great (had to mix 15 minutes as others stated). I think I might try again, only next time I will 1) spoon my flour into measuring cup rather than scooping as not to get too much 2) will bake 20 - 25 minutes as I think 30 was too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I have made this recipe several time with success...it is moist and flavorful. I have recently started using almond milk as a milk replacement with everything for good health and this has also worked well (using about an additional 1/4th cup). Remember, overall scratch cakes are heavier and more dense than a box cake. I think lots of people try scratch expecting a box cake result...will not happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was my first time trying to bake a red velvet cake from scratch at home. I followed the recipe for the cake, but decided to do a cream cheese frosting for the cake. I did not like the cake itself. It came out dry, and if it weren't for the frosting, I couldn't eat it. Plus, the taste it self was sub par. Maybe I did something wrong...I am not sure, but I will be trying a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This cake had a terrible taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This cake was good. This was my first time cooking a cake from scratch and it turned out ok. The cake tasted great but my cake fell and it came apart when i took it out the pans to dry. The icing was ok also but I think next time I will try cream cheese. The overall appearance of my cake was not good but the taste of the cake was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Owens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Wow I used this recipe for cup cakes. I've been trying out a lot of cake recipes on here and this is by far the best one yet!!! Its so soft and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Excellent recipe, turned out wonderfully! Just follow the recipe. Made this for Mother's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okarche, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This cake is great, I made it for my grandpas birthday and my whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I personally add additional cocoa powder, and when I make my frosting, I cook the sugar in with the flour as it is completely smooth and light that way. Phenomenal recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by headoverfeet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I did this recipe twice, baking one cake right after the other. As another reviewer noted, you have to beat the icing well (I used a hand mixer for nearly 15 minutes before adding the flour mixture and for 3-5 minutes after), so that you don't have a gritty icing. The icing isn't too sweet, and worked well with the cake. As for making the flour mixture, keep stirring constantly, and the mix will get nice and thick. Cool it completely before adding it to the sugar mix. The vinegar mix is kind of crazy, because on the first cake I did, I worked quickly, and the cake came out a bit more dense than cake #2 (where I practically threw it in the oven, I worked so fast). One last note: food coloring. I used a gel food color (about a teaspoon), but if I had to do it again, I'd try the liquid. Mainly, because my batter seemed a bit thicker than on the video shown for this recipe. Either way, the cake was a hit. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States