Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I made a few red velvet cakes before from allrecipes.com, and all of them works. but not this one: it came out is soggy and didnt hold together and crumbs so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
a Great cake not that well known in the uk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I did not like the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GaufresBrules
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is definitely one of the best cakes I've ever tasted! I made this for my Russian class at school and although there were only 8 of us, the cake was almost gone by the end of class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaufresBrules

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This cake was great; I would just make sure to make three layers, not two. The rise is wonderful, but it domes more in two pans, and trimming wastes cake. Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensentwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I was very pleased with this recipe. I had never made a red velvet cake from scratch before and needless to say, I was quite nervous. It was very easy to make (though a bit time consuming), and it was a big hit on Mother's day. Side note: I thought 4 tablespoons of red food coloring was a bit much. I understand it is needed to make the classic red of a velvet cake, but I found that adding a bit of vegetable oil to the cocoa "paste" as you gradually mix in drops of food coloring, really alleviates the need to add so much food coloring. And you still get that nice, dark red color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaitlin Riedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
The cake part was super easy and delicious. I'm addicted to the Cream Cheese Frosting II, so I used that instead of the frosting in this recipe. This is the second recipe for Red Velvet that I've tried, and this is much better than the first...no lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Wonderful! Loved the cake, loved the icing. I had no problems with dryness and the icing came together perfectly. Beautiful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I have never made a red velvet cake before, so I was going in blind. It turned out bad. I used the suggestions of the other reviewers and used oil instead of shortening. It made the cake cook soooo uneven. The bottom was perfect, the sides were over cooked, and the top was dough with an oil film on top. So I'm not sure what I did wrong, but I would love any suggestions. I would love to make this cake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I followed another reviewers advice w/ the following: A) Get the vinegar mixture into the batter quickly and gently and get it in the oven FAST. B) Start checking it with a toothpick 10 minutes before the given time and after that every 3 to 5 minutes until the toothpick comes out mostly clean. C) The flour paste for the frosting must be cooked until it forms a mound that stays in the middle of the pan, and it must be cooled to room temperature but never chilled. The butter and sugar must be beaten for at least 10 minutes before adding the flour paste, to eliminate sugar grit. Even after following all of these tips, it was still quite dry. Next time I will add a bit of oil and reduced the oven time. Oh, for the Superbowl, I dyed the top half red and the bottom half blue in honor of the Giants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States