Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
The cake turned out perfectly!!! The frosting recipe is not right!!! I think I made it with the wrong butter or it says to put to much in. Awesome recipe but I reccomend a different one for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
If you follow directions there is no reason this cake won't turn out. I would however watch the video to ensure you have the steps down. Also, there are few other steps I followed reading another reviewer, Kristin's comments:check the cake after 20 mins and then check it every 3 or 5 minutes until its done; don't wait too long to bake after adding in the vinegar & baking soda mixture. The icing is to die for!! I haven't tasted such amazing icing in a long time. I will use this on all my other cakes. My co-workers told me, if i got to tired of making a cake, just bring in a trough of this icing! I also accidently used baking powder instead of baking soda, it turned out fine. I will try making it again with baking soda and see what the difference is Everyone at the office loved this! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This was great, subtituted milk and lemon for buttermilk. I have made it twice now, but each time I make it!, the cocoa is always seperated from the red food colour, what am I doing wrong can anybody help me? Used veg oil instead of crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I have been baking cakes for many many years, all of my family and friend have me make their cakes for them! But this cake was awful and dry. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Echo, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Wonderful, authentic recipe with amazing results. It just takes a LONG time to cook the icing, the only reason I rated it four stars instead of five. But, boy, was this a hit! It's especially fitting as a Christmas desert with some green sugar sprinkles on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
The cake is very good loved the recipe. however the frosting recipe needs to be altered a tad because it is not thick enough!!!My family really loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I have not tried this cake, but I have used the frosting many times and LOVE it! This is so worth the effort, (it is alittle more time consuming as you have to make a white sauce and chill it, and then beat it for what feels like hours) but it turns out to be the best frosting! Great for chocolate cake or when you are looking for something less sweet than your typical buttercream frosting, and I am sure it would be great on red velvet cake which always seems to be made with cream cheese frosting (which I do like, but prefer on carrot cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made this cake Sunday. I have to say it is very good, the whole cake is gone. I did just a few changes. I used 1 cup of oil instead of the shortening and I did a cream cheese frosting with pecans on top. Next time instead of baking for the full 30 minutes i will take it out 3 to 5 minutes before time to see if it will be a little more moist.This cake for some reason a day or two after making it, it tasted even better. I will be making this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I have made this cake twice now, once as a cake and once as cupcakes, and both times it came out brilliantly. Both times I used oil instead of butter, doubled the cocoa powder and got the batter in the oven asap as suggested by previous poster once soda mix added. I think the main things to avoid issues with this cake is the following: 1. I only baked in oven for 20 mins for full cake and 15 mins for cupcakes. Any longer and would have come out very dry. 2. If you have a fan oven you need to reduce the temp by 20 degrees to 155. 3. Icing - when cooking the milk/ flour mixture you need to constantly stir this and once it has thickened you need to continue cooking this for at least a further 5 mins on a low heat and continue to constantly stir with a whisk to cook out the taste of the flour. Then transfer the mixture straight away from the pan to a plate and cover with cling film so it touches the mixture to avoid forming a skin. Then leave to completely cool. When combining the butter and sugar whisk with an electric whisk for at least 5 mins before adding the milk/ flour mix until it has a mousse like texture. Then whisk in the flour mixture but not until completed cooled and cold to touch. Whisk for a good 5 mins or longer until silky. The icing is definitely more effort than the regular buttercream but much, much lighter and not as sickly sweet. Of all the icings I have used on my cakes everyone always comments on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I used butter for the shortening and gel dye. I made two batches (separately) and stacked it into 4 round layer cakes. it was wonderful, fancy and delicious! I also doubled the frosting and was sure to whip it well. It too was perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States