Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I have made this cake twice now, once as a cake and once as cupcakes, and both times it came out brilliantly. Both times I used oil instead of butter, doubled the cocoa powder and got the batter in the oven asap as suggested by previous poster once soda mix added. I think the main things to avoid issues with this cake is the following: 1. I only baked in oven for 20 mins for full cake and 15 mins for cupcakes. Any longer and would have come out very dry. 2. If you have a fan oven you need to reduce the temp by 20 degrees to 155. 3. Icing - when cooking the milk/ flour mixture you need to constantly stir this and once it has thickened you need to continue cooking this for at least a further 5 mins on a low heat and continue to constantly stir with a whisk to cook out the taste of the flour. Then transfer the mixture straight away from the pan to a plate and cover with cling film so it touches the mixture to avoid forming a skin. Then leave to completely cool. When combining the butter and sugar whisk with an electric whisk for at least 5 mins before adding the milk/ flour mix until it has a mousse like texture. Then whisk in the flour mixture but not until completed cooled and cold to touch. Whisk for a good 5 mins or longer until silky. The icing is definitely more effort than the regular buttercream but much, much lighter and not as sickly sweet. Of all the icings I have used on my cakes everyone always comments on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I used butter for the shortening and gel dye. I made two batches (separately) and stacked it into 4 round layer cakes. it was wonderful, fancy and delicious! I also doubled the frosting and was sure to whip it well. It too was perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Does anyone feel like this recipe is yelling at you? It's like Gordon Ramsey is in the kitchen with you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This recipe was awesome, the cake was so light and fluffy. My neighbour said I should open a bakery this cake was so good! I used the icing recipe from Red Velvet Cake II for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This was my first time using food coloring when baking and BEWARE. It's pretty hard to find traditional water-based food coloring these days so I had to use gel (or icing) food coloring. I didn't think there would be much of a difference, but I was quite wrong. Food coloring in general isn't tasteless and using too much will make it noticeable, but gel has an even more intense... off-putting flavor. The cake baked very well, had a good consistency and you could tell there was deliciousness to be had, but lightly masking that was the taste of the coloring. I still give it four stars because it was my own lack of info that had it turn out the way it did, but this is a pretty difficult recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
My son has always raved about red velvet cake, so he is my measure of excellence on this. I made this for valentines day and he said it was the best he's had! I found the recipe easy to follow and worth the few extra steps to achieve such a beautiful and tasty result. I did make cupcakes and I baked them for 18 minutes. I gave some out to friends everyone raved about them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Faust

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is almost the exact recipe that has been part of our family holidays since 1945. we used a little less cocoa in ours. Our family cuts each cake to make 4 layers instead of 2 and the sides are not to be frosted. The frosting is very important. Please, Do Not Substitute Cream Cheese Frosting-- for this butter roux frosting. The cake tastes best if refrigerated a few hours before serving. It seems the frosting sets up better. Careful with the vinegar and soda, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
2 Suggestions: Been making this for decades, and instead of two 1-oz. bottles of coloring, I use one bottle, then fill it up again with milk and you won't even notice the difference. (And only 2-1/4 cups flour.) Second: To very nicely frost a 9-inch three-layer, use these amounts for the icing. 6-1/3 tablespoons flour; 1-1/4 cups *each* of milk, soft butter, and sugar; and 1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla. Just right! Oh, and the instructions on the icing are NONnegotiable (but easy), to turn out! I microwave the flour and milk in 1-min. intervals to a very thick paste whisking WELL after each, and it will thicken more when cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Great directions, ty for posting this! It was a hit this Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I've made this cake for Christmas every year for 10 years now, and it's always a huge hit! Some notes I've made over the years: *For the frosting, do not use a whisk for the flour and milk mixture. Stir it until the texture is a thick paste, like the consistency of mashed potatoes - about 10 minutes. Do let it cool completely before continuing with the frosting. *The frosting may not seem like a lot, but it is! I use some for a crumb layer and some for decorating. *This recipe makes approximately 22-24 cupcakes. For cupcakes, baking time = about 25 minutes. *For two 8" pans baking time = about 35 minutes. *For a bundt baking time = about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States