Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I have now made this recipe multiple times with slight variations (to follow), and this cake is a universal success. It never lasts more than 48 hours at my house, and is requested by family and friends alike. It has become known as "that special chocolate cake you make" (I can't get it to go red with the food colouring available where I live, so it usually comes out light brown). My teenage son's friends even ask if I've baked one when they come over. Yes, it is that good, and thank-you, Eleanor Johnson! Tips: Double the frosting (or icing or butter cream). Do not try to shorten the sugar-dissolving time by cooking it with the milk/flour step, as it will fail. Add the cooled "pudding" a tablespoon at a time, and beat, beat, beat. 1/2 cup of oil as opposed to shortening is sufficient for tenderness. I find that the full cup suggested elsewhere results in an excessively oily consistency. The shortening in the original recipe is fine too though. The vinegar/ baking soda as a leavening agent results in a uniform surface, which is really nice, as opposed to the doming from baking powder cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I tried to make the icing three times before I decided not to waste any more materials. The cake tasted bland and it was nothing special. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I 2 USED BUTTER AND MAYBE ABOUT A 1/3 CUP OF OIL. 3 TBSP OF COCOA AND USED WILTONS NO TASTE RED GEL (2 BOTTLES) TASTE WAS GREAT, BUT WAS STILL ON DRY SIDE. MY BF THOUGHT IT WAS FAB BUT I THOUGHT IT COULDA BEEN BETTER BUT IM A HUGE PERFECTIONIST WHEN BAKING. I USED CREAM CHEESE FROSTING. WILL USE ALL OIL NEXT TIME I THINK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
The cake turned out perfectly!!! The frosting recipe is not right!!! I think I made it with the wrong butter or it says to put to much in. Awesome recipe but I reccomend a different one for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
If you follow directions there is no reason this cake won't turn out. I would however watch the video to ensure you have the steps down. Also, there are few other steps I followed reading another reviewer, Kristin's comments:check the cake after 20 mins and then check it every 3 or 5 minutes until its done; don't wait too long to bake after adding in the vinegar & baking soda mixture. The icing is to die for!! I haven't tasted such amazing icing in a long time. I will use this on all my other cakes. My co-workers told me, if i got to tired of making a cake, just bring in a trough of this icing! I also accidently used baking powder instead of baking soda, it turned out fine. I will try making it again with baking soda and see what the difference is Everyone at the office loved this! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This was great, subtituted milk and lemon for buttermilk. I have made it twice now, but each time I make it!, the cocoa is always seperated from the red food colour, what am I doing wrong can anybody help me? Used veg oil instead of crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I have been baking cakes for many many years, all of my family and friend have me make their cakes for them! But this cake was awful and dry. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Echo, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Wonderful, authentic recipe with amazing results. It just takes a LONG time to cook the icing, the only reason I rated it four stars instead of five. But, boy, was this a hit! It's especially fitting as a Christmas desert with some green sugar sprinkles on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
The cake is very good loved the recipe. however the frosting recipe needs to be altered a tad because it is not thick enough!!!My family really loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I have not tried this cake, but I have used the frosting many times and LOVE it! This is so worth the effort, (it is alittle more time consuming as you have to make a white sauce and chill it, and then beat it for what feels like hours) but it turns out to be the best frosting! Great for chocolate cake or when you are looking for something less sweet than your typical buttercream frosting, and I am sure it would be great on red velvet cake which always seems to be made with cream cheese frosting (which I do like, but prefer on carrot cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States