Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This recipe was great the cake turned out moist and the icing perfect! I would definitely use this recipe again knowing how well it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Definitely the best recipe I've found. Just like my grandmother used to make. It is a complicated recipe... you really want to be ready to take the cake from vinegar and baking soda to oven in as little time as possible. Also with the icing don't use any kind of spreadable butter. I had an issue where I didn't have enough butter and had to do a small substitution with spreadable butter and the icing came out lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Today (11/3/2013) is the third time I've made this cake. This is the third time it's been absolutely delicious and PERFECT. Great texture, great crumb, great flavor, great look. However... I used gel food coloring instead of liquid. Used about 1.5 tablespoons of the gel coloring and the color is just great. Your mileage may vary, however. People giving negatives: Try again. You may just be doing a step too quick or not right or maybe even missing something. I am a completely novice baker (only started baking about 2 months ago) and this cake is a hit with everyone so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Great recipe! I made cupcakes with this and it turned out great! I did let the icing cool before putting them on the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I am the baker for a resort restaurant and am extremely familiar with the baking techniques used in this recipe. I've been getting requests for red velvet cake and decided to try this one since it had good ratings, and I will continue to look for a recipe. I followed the recipe EXACTLY and my cake just crumbled. Completely non-salvageable. I have to give the crumbles a 5 star, they were very tasty and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is the best red velvet cake recipe I have ever tried. The only "issue" was the baking soda/vinegar folding. The cake rose perfectly though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri65

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I have been searching for an authentic red velvet cake recipe for the longest time, and this one is the closest I've found. The cake came out SO moist, and I used one of the reviewer's suggestion to mix the baking soda and vinegar right at the end, and put it in the oven ASAP. It worked like a charm. The cake came out soft, delicious and melted in my mouth. The only alteration I made was, I used a cream cheese frosting instead of the one provided. It tastes amazing. Red velvet is my favourite kind of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Thank you for this recipe! This cake and icing recipe is THE BOMB. The icing, oh my God, the icing..... It reminds me of an old fashioned cooked icing recipe like my great aunts and grandma used to make. Spectacular! It takes a little more time but it is SOOOOO worth it! I followed directions exactly, except I doubled the icing recipe so I could make sure I had a really nice thick middle filling layer and enough to convert the icing for detailed decorating. For those who are new to the art of from-scratch cake-baking, I would suggest reading some of the high rated comments to get more detailed direction. If I could rate it a 10 I would. Best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe today, it was the worst red velvet recipe ever! icing was too buttery, the cake turned out too hard and salty, it was just weird!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States