Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was my 1st red velvet cake. It turned out really good but just a little dry. Just knowing how your oven is going to cook your cake is the key to the cake being moist. I didn't use the same icing because it didn't turn out very well, instead I used a crem cheese frosting. Everyone said it was really good but next time I plan to check the cake at least half way through the said time. But u can't expect it to come out perfect every time or on your 1st try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe is great. Although I'm a little confused on why it says to use white sugar instead of icing sugar for the frosting. While the taste for the frosting is amazing, I still have a litle grainy texture to it. I do beat it with a mixer for ten minutes. Could I use powerded sugar instead? And how much would I use? Again, great cake, just need a little help on the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I have never made a Red Velvet cake before trying this one. The cake turned out ok. The icing is just plain awful, it is pure butter and grease. If you are going to make this cake depending on the color you want you do not need that much food coloring, and for the icing 1/2 cup would be plenty or better yet just make a butter cream frosting and put on it. I will try making another Red Velvet cake with another recipe and definitely another icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Have never had red velvet cake before, so I have nothing to compare it to but it tasted fantastic!!! Very moist and flavourful. Like many others, I doubled the cocoa and used canola oil instead of shortening. Couldn't find round pans so had to use a rectangular, took 10 extra minutes to cook. Wonderful cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This cake was a lot more complicated than I originally thought it would be. I did make a few mistakes, which is probably why I was a bit disappointed. However, the cake just didn't have the flavor I was expecting. It was moist, and sweet, but it wasn't what I thought red velvet cake should be. And to be honest, the frosting I used was really what sold me on the cake. I think I'll try a different recipe next time, but I did like the cake, and my family enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Turned out great! Beautiful bright color. Moist cake with a creamy frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Naumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Bullard, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Definitely swap the shortening with a neutral oil like canola. Keeps it moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Great cake! I used whole milk instead of buttermilk, and butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and even used the extra help tips provided by Kristin. The cake was not moist at all. I would not used this recipe again for that reason as well as tedious in preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Awesome - One day I decided to make a red velvet cake for a friends birthday. It was a hit. For newbies - make sure you read Kristen's helpful hints on her review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States