Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Great cake! I used whole milk instead of buttermilk, and butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and even used the extra help tips provided by Kristin. The cake was not moist at all. I would not used this recipe again for that reason as well as tedious in preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Awesome - One day I decided to make a red velvet cake for a friends birthday. It was a hit. For newbies - make sure you read Kristen's helpful hints on her review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
The reviews for this cake made me think I would make a winner. I made it exactly according to the recipe and it was so dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
First time I've ever made a red velvet cake & it was delicious! Since it's my friend's favorite cake & she came in from California tonight, I wanted to make it for her. She said it was just like hers that she makes every Christmas & she loved it. We ALL loved it! I used the original recipe with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Was the best cake I have ever made , live in Little New zealand and i couldnt find a good red velvet cake recipe here but this one was fantastic although i used the suggested changes with the 1 cup oil and double the amount of cocoa , cake was moist spungy sweet and perfect would recommend to anyone and everyone! A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This cake was really good!! I don't like red velvet cake but my daughter insisted that I would like it and she was right. She made the exact recipe -no changes. I did notice that some of the reviews said the cake was too dry... Which makes me think that some might be measuring the flour before it's sifted instead of after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cohutta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Everyone loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I'm not a baker but my wife wanted red velvet for her 30th birthday so I tried this recipe it is by far the best cake I have ever made!!! as other reviewers have stated you must check this cake early and often if you do you will be rewarded
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Great recipe! I omit the red dye to make it a plain chocolate cake. I know it kind of defeats the purpose, since it's RED velvet cake, but my husband loves this cake and is allergic to red dye. Now he can enjoy as much as he likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States