Red Velvet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I personally add additional cocoa powder, and when I make my frosting, I cook the sugar in with the flour as it is completely smooth and light that way. Phenomenal recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by headoverfeet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I did this recipe twice, baking one cake right after the other. As another reviewer noted, you have to beat the icing well (I used a hand mixer for nearly 15 minutes before adding the flour mixture and for 3-5 minutes after), so that you don't have a gritty icing. The icing isn't too sweet, and worked well with the cake. As for making the flour mixture, keep stirring constantly, and the mix will get nice and thick. Cool it completely before adding it to the sugar mix. The vinegar mix is kind of crazy, because on the first cake I did, I worked quickly, and the cake came out a bit more dense than cake #2 (where I practically threw it in the oven, I worked so fast). One last note: food coloring. I used a gel food color (about a teaspoon), but if I had to do it again, I'd try the liquid. Mainly, because my batter seemed a bit thicker than on the video shown for this recipe. Either way, the cake was a hit. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
SO YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMY....................
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shayla
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe! Followed the directions exactly. Turned out perfect! I made mine for Valentines Day for my boyfriend. He proposed to me that day! When he finally tried the cake he wouldn't stop eating how freaking good it was. I have never made a red velvet cake before. This recipe is definitely a keeper! The frosting is devine! Wouldn't change anything! Just make sure you keep an eye on it while it's baking. My cake was done earlier than the actual bake time. This recipe was actually featured on the "Better" show. I was sold on making it after I saw how beautiful and delicious it looked on TV!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I baked the cake too long and cooked the roux not long enough, so the cake had a crust and the icing was a bit soft, but the recipe is excellent, you just have to *follow* it. Also I don't think the color is important (has nothing to do with the flavor or anything) so I used vanilla-infused rum instead of food coloring to make the cocoa paste. I ate a lot of batter and frosting while making this cake, so now I feel sick, but happy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Percy Anthony
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Loved this recipe! I bet it'd be better if I got the baking soda & vinegar mix in faster. That and if I had used buttermilk instead of regular milk. And if it hadn't been teal. Ran out of red coloring. Anyway it was a great recipe and despite my own faults it was fantastic, 10/10 would bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I am an experienced baker, but the cake didn't rise and just turned to goo I my cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
The cake came out dry after baking the required amount of time, and the frosting didn't come out FLUFFY! I had to add additional powdered sugar to even get it to the right consistency. I don't know what I did wrong, but I cooked the flour and milk to a 'thick' consistency. I want to find a different recipe to use in the future. One that isn't so dry and the frosting comes out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windom, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I did not make the cake just the frosting. It was great. Make sure you mix it long enough. The flour mixture did not look tasty, but once added to the butter mixture it makes a wonderful frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I didn't use the cake recipe, only the icing. Excellent! Didn't change a thing and would not change a thing. However, even having read the most useful comment, I still managed to under beat the sugar and butter. I didn't check before I added in the milk mixture and only realized as I started icing the cake that the sugar particles were still not dissolved. No problem, put the icing back in the stand mixer and beat it for an additional 5 minutes. It became even fluffier than before. First time making this type of frosting but will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States