Red Velvet Cake with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I had decided to make this cake before the first review was written. I based my decision mostly on the fact that the cake contained pudding so I knew it wouldn't be dry. The cake was just ok. I only had 1 ounce of red food coloring but the cake was plenty red. I probably should have added 1 ounce of water to replace the missing food coloring but I didn't think about it until it was too late. The batter was very thick and when cooked the layers were pretty flat. The icing was not to my liking. My kids thought the buttercream tasted funny and in general the cake lacked flavor. I will not be making this cake again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
i have searched for the recipe for red velvet cake that would accually taste like chocolate, and be moist also. I must say I was plesantly surprised! this is absolutely the best recipe for red velvet cake I have ever tried. As a testiment to this cake, I made it and wrapped a large slice for my husband who drives trucks for a living. he said the cake was so good that he licked the aluminum foil it was wrapped in! very funny when he told it to me. The only thing i did different was, I used cream cheese frosing instead of the buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was my first time making red velvet cake (a birthday request from my 14 yr old son). The cake was awesome. It came out perfect! It was so MOIST with great flavor. The entire family loved it. Cake was gone by morning! Will definitely make this one again. The only change I made was I added white chocolate to the frosting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Loved how moist it was!!! Very good buttercream but might use a little less vanilla next time. Otherwise it was all perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is the most moist caake very good. made it at Christmas making it again for another family get together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
it tasted fine, but lacked flavour and tasted more like a chocolate pudding cake then the fluffy sweetness one expects from a red velvet cake. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Excellent and easy red velvet recipe - I had to go with what I had on hand, so I had to use sifted all purpose flour instead of cake flour (you can also use some cornstarch in all purpose as substitute, but I didn't have any of that either). Used only 1 oz food coloring. As a sub for buttermilk I used 1 cup regular milk mixed w/ 1 tablespoon white vinegar (usually you would use 1 T vinegar w/ enough milk to make a cup, but with cutting out some food coloring I did it this way). I also used nearly 3 tablespoons cocoa. Since I was baking in dark, non-stick pans I reduced oven temp to 340 and they were perfect in 27 minutes. For frosting I stuck with a cream cheese - 8 oz reduced fat cream cheese, 1/2 cup softened butter, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1-3/4 cups confect. sugar - it was perfect - not too sweet! Even with all my subs this is a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I had a velvet cake recipe years ago that I truly loved. I lost it and could never find another just like it.This cake is amazing!. I used 2-8inch pans because red velvet cake does not rise very much.I also had to increase my baking time,but DO NOT overbake. But again, it was fantastic.I just returned from a cook out and it was "the hit".so very moist. I used another recipe for the frosting though. I use a "smooth buttercream" recipe. I am making another tomorrow.Thank you so much for sharing. :}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I am giving this only two stars because the buttercream frosting is decidedly lacking - it is overly sweet and leaves a waxy aftertaste on the tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Awesome recipe. First time making a red velvet cake and will keep this recipe for years to come! Be sure to use cake flour if at all possible - you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandie Lowe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blountsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States