Red Velvet Cake with Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was my first time making red velvet cake (a birthday request from my 14 yr old son). The cake was awesome. It came out perfect! It was so MOIST with great flavor. The entire family loved it. Cake was gone by morning! Will definitely make this one again. The only change I made was I added white chocolate to the frosting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I had decided to make this cake before the first review was written. I based my decision mostly on the fact that the cake contained pudding so I knew it wouldn't be dry. The cake was just ok. I only had 1 ounce of red food coloring but the cake was plenty red. I probably should have added 1 ounce of water to replace the missing food coloring but I didn't think about it until it was too late. The batter was very thick and when cooked the layers were pretty flat. The icing was not to my liking. My kids thought the buttercream tasted funny and in general the cake lacked flavor. I will not be making this cake again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
i have searched for the recipe for red velvet cake that would accually taste like chocolate, and be moist also. I must say I was plesantly surprised! this is absolutely the best recipe for red velvet cake I have ever tried. As a testiment to this cake, I made it and wrapped a large slice for my husband who drives trucks for a living. he said the cake was so good that he licked the aluminum foil it was wrapped in! very funny when he told it to me. The only thing i did different was, I used cream cheese frosing instead of the buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Loved how moist it was!!! Very good buttercream but might use a little less vanilla next time. Otherwise it was all perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is the most moist caake very good. made it at Christmas making it again for another family get together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
it tasted fine, but lacked flavour and tasted more like a chocolate pudding cake then the fluffy sweetness one expects from a red velvet cake. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I am giving this only two stars because the buttercream frosting is decidedly lacking - it is overly sweet and leaves a waxy aftertaste on the tongue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I had a velvet cake recipe years ago that I truly loved. I lost it and could never find another just like it.This cake is amazing!. I used 2-8inch pans because red velvet cake does not rise very much.I also had to increase my baking time,but DO NOT overbake. But again, it was fantastic.I just returned from a cook out and it was "the hit".so very moist. I used another recipe for the frosting though. I use a "smooth buttercream" recipe. I am making another tomorrow.Thank you so much for sharing. :}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Only 4 stars because I used a different frosting instead of the one in the recipe. The cake was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
The cake was moist and tasted amazing. The only issue I had was the cake was really dense. I have never made red velvet cake before so maybe this is how it was suppose to be. I can't judge the icing as I used another one from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States