Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
over the years, i have found that i'm not a very big red velvet cake fan, but this recipe is absolutely stellar. the only thing i would change about these cakes would perhaps be a longer baking time, but other than that, i will use this recipe from now on... thank you! =3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vivabonardi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Very dry. Did not like the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAFEMME83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Followed recipie but used 9 inch pans as the vinegar and baking soda combination really elevate this cake. Used double the the amount of cocoa and refridgerated the cake before icing, a trick I learned when I used to decorate cakes. No crumbs get in the icing. Turned out very moist every one loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I bundted it and had to raise the cooking time quite a bit. It made my daughters birthday. A week later I was asked to make one for work and it was gone in minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
To add the vinegar/baking soda mix without lumping, I put a little of the dough into the cup and mixed it all together before adding it all back into the bowl. It blended quickly and smoothly. Also, I halved the recipe (bit much for two people), and then cooked it thinner to make the layers. My husband wanted it to be more moist, and wanted a sweeter frosting. Cream Cheese is less sweet here, so maybe I'll add some sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABY
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I MADE THIS CAKE FOR MY FIANCES BIRTHDAY THE OTHER DAY. IT TASTED RATHER DRY. IT WAS MISSING SOMETHING. I THINK IT COULD'VE USED A LITTLE MORE SUGAR. IT WAS SORT OF BLAND AND NOT MOIST ENOUGH. I THINK NEXT TIME I'LL TRY ANOTHER RED VELVET RECIPE. :\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I followed the directions of this recipe exactly, except I made cupcakes instead. They came out well, but the cake was a little too sweet for me. Nice moist and spongy texture, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by las222005
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made it on Saturday it was gone Sunday night!!! Oh and I replace real sugar with splenda for baking for the cake and used splenda for the frosting if you add a splash of lemon juice it will definitely kill the slight after taste in the frosting. Everyone thought it was delicious. Wonderful for the first time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by las222005

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I only used the frosting recipe included in this recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Not worth all the work. I followed the recipe exactly. Cake was rather chewy. Taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States