Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I tried just the frosting on another red velvet cake recipe. I refrigerated it overnight to firm it up, but it really was too firm to spread then. I let it return to almost room temperature, and it spread on the 2-layer cake very nicely. I used Baker's white chocolate, and the flavor was not as good as I would have liked. Think the Nestle's white chocolate morsels' flavor would have been a little better. It had kind of an off flavor, too, and I'm not sure what that was from. Probably won't try it again, unless I use a different white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This was my 2nd attempt at a red velvet cake. The first one (different recipe) was WAY too dry and terrible. This one turned out PERFECT! I am not an experienced baker, but this was easy to follow and I am keeping it in my recipe box! I made the frosting, and did not like it at all, so I will stick to the traditional easy to make cream cheese icing. That is the only reason this got 4 stars from me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Great recipe, great taste. Few alterations though... you do NOT need that much food coloring!!! about .1 to .2 ounces will work!!! Also cooking time was a lot longer than expected. Took about 20 minutes longer. (1000' above sea level and gas oven)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Made this cake Saturday night for Sunday dinner which is always a big deal at my house. As a child growing up i had an Aunt who always made the Red Velvet Cake for every holiday. I have searched and searched for one as close to hers as i could find and this is it. This cake was moist and the color was out standing. This cake was gone by the end of the day. I take extra time in beating the butter and sugar as well as beating in the eggs one at a time. The only I did different was I sifted in the coco to make sure i did not lumps. I used a differnet basic cream cheese frosting. Kids commeted it almost was as good as Aunt Celeste's cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bronzestorm
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made the cake and followed the ingredients exactly. Tastes great! However, I used three 9 inch pans. Instead of the frosting listed, I used traditional cream cheese with pecans and did a chocolate drizzle with more pecans on top. They LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I found this recipe on the UK site first. I made it exactly as stated and it turned out as a lovely, light cake. It looks fantastic and tastes even better. My mother had a piece and then insisted I left a wedge of cake behind when I left! I do find though, that the frosting can be a little rich. Pop the cake in the fridge for an hour or so and the chilled icing won't seem quite so rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Delish! I got rave reviews on this cake. Everyone was amazed to know that I made it from scratch because it was so good it tasted like it had to have come from a box! I followed the recipe to the t and didn't need any alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
The cake was amazing but I fine the cooking times to be way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I adore this recipe (I've made only the cake part and use a standard cream cheese frosting). I do mix it more like a traditional cake recipe: combine all dry stuff, combine all liquid, add these alternately to creamed sugar/butter/egg. That has given me consistently beautiful results several times. I do like the cake a little bit redder, so when that is wanted, I add more coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Excellent red velvet. easy to make, moist, moist, moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States