Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter with these exceptions: I sifted the flour and cocoa powder together, blended the food coloring with the creamed butter and sugar, I added the egg yolks one at a time and beat the egg whites until stiff peaks formed then folded them in at the end. The cake came out very nicely but wasn't very sweet. I did have to bake it a lot longer than the recipe suggests (about 45 minutes per pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Though the taste was good, the cake was dry and dense. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Great cake but the icing is VERY rich. Next time I will cut the amount of white chocolate in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Taking the suggestions of other reviews and adding additional buttermilk and cocoa made this the best. I've been making this recipe for about 4 years and its alway a little on the dry side. I took some time to read the reviews when I reprinted my faded copy and to my surprise the cake turned out moist, tender and very chocolaty. All this time it's been the recipe not me! The frosting has always been yummy, but on the revised cake, it was absolutely phenomenal. This is a time consuming recipe but it is well worth it. I put chopped nuts around the edges and whole pecan halves on top. It is beautiful and delicious. Give it a try with 1 & 1/4 c. extra buttermilk and 1 1/2 tbsp extra cocoa. It makes the difference and the cake is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I was really disappointed with this cake. I found it to have very little flavor- definitely not chocolate, and I agree with the other reviews that said the frosting was too runny for layering. I didn't really care for the flavor of the frosting either. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was a good cake. I agree it was a bit dense, but all in all, I would make it again. I took another person's advice and added vanilla to the frosting and that was a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very nice, followed to a T, except made as cupcakes. Wonderful, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Very moist cake! Used 1/2 all-purpose wheat flour, then 1/2 wheat flour. Spinkled cake/frosting with coconut! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nfargo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very nice cake frosting is nice but I don't do white chocolate so I used milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was the first cake I had made from scratch. It turned out amazing!! Super moist and the frosting is the perfect pair. I highly recommend this recipe. It became a huge hit with my family & friends. Thank you, Pal, for sharing it with us. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States