Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
A very good red velvet recipe. Good with the buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
I really loved it and the best part was the frosting something different than just cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
Another recipe trying to fit 10 lbs. of stuff into a 5-lb. bag. Way too much batter for 3 8-in. pans. The recipe should have asked for 3 9-in. pans, and even then I am not sure the batter would have fit properly. The pans kept dripping, making a mess in the oven. Another matter: in step 1 the recipe specifies 350 F as the oven temperature to be used. In step 5, however, the temperature asked for is 325 F. I used 325 F and ended up having to keep the pans in the oven for about 15 more minutes, at 350 F. other than than that, it did come out well, and was highly liked. Will make it again, but using the 9-in. pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
Fabulous cake - I've given the recipe to four people and made it twice in a week! The frosting is especially out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
I've made this cake twice and both times I recieved rave reviews! The cake is extremely attractive because of the red color.(I only used half the red coloring. The icing is what makes it out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
If you like a buttery frosting - you will love this one! I made this for Valentine's Day and all of my co-workers LOVED it! I too had extra frosting left over, but I was glad to have extra than not enough. Wonderful, wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
For me this wasn't easy but is was delicious! I will use this frosting for other cakes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
I think this is one of the best red velvet cakes I've come across. I love the frosting. I also think this is the cake that convinced my husband to marry me!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2001
Wonderful recipe! The frosting is just out of site!!!!!!1 This cake is the best after it is refrgerated or frozen!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
This was soooooo good!! I cooked it in a bundt pan and it took a LOT longer - probably almost 50-60 minutes in a 325 degree oven. and also it just about didn't fit in the pan but OH was it worth it! This is definitely a keeper! I also took a previous rater's advice and sifted the flour and cocoa together, instead of mixing the cocoa with the red food coloring. worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States