Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
Fabulous cake - I've given the recipe to four people and made it twice in a week! The frosting is especially out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2000
That was my first time ever making a cake from scratch.Not only was it delicious,I also had fun making it.Thanks for the recipe. Cottina Long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
A very good red velvet recipe. Good with the buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
I really loved it and the best part was the frosting something different than just cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
I've made this cake twice and both times I recieved rave reviews! The cake is extremely attractive because of the red color.(I only used half the red coloring. The icing is what makes it out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I received nothing but rave reviews about this cake! It is definitely a keeper! The white chocolate cream cheese icing was a little too cheesey, so I modified it by adding two more ounces of white chocolate, a little vanilla and confectioners sugar. Next time I will only use one 8 oz package of cream cheese instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I/we loved the cake, however I feel the cocoa could have been incorporated into the mixture if sifted with the flour instead of added with the butter mixture & food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
Another recipe trying to fit 10 lbs. of stuff into a 5-lb. bag. Way too much batter for 3 8-in. pans. The recipe should have asked for 3 9-in. pans, and even then I am not sure the batter would have fit properly. The pans kept dripping, making a mess in the oven. Another matter: in step 1 the recipe specifies 350 F as the oven temperature to be used. In step 5, however, the temperature asked for is 325 F. I used 325 F and ended up having to keep the pans in the oven for about 15 more minutes, at 350 F. other than than that, it did come out well, and was highly liked. Will make it again, but using the 9-in. pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Don't make the white chocolate cream cheese icing - I did not care for it. I'm really surprised how many people gave the icing a good review. I tend to be forgiving but there was too much butter and it needed confectioner's sugar or something to combat the strong butter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This recipe is great!!! We made 3 for the holidays and my 3 yr.old son had a great time helping with all of them. The icing is delicious and the cake itself is very good...definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States