Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
over the years, i have found that i'm not a very big red velvet cake fan, but this recipe is absolutely stellar. the only thing i would change about these cakes would perhaps be a longer baking time, but other than that, i will use this recipe from now on... thank you! =3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vivabonardi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Very dry. Did not like the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAFEMME83

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Followed recipie but used 9 inch pans as the vinegar and baking soda combination really elevate this cake. Used double the the amount of cocoa and refridgerated the cake before icing, a trick I learned when I used to decorate cakes. No crumbs get in the icing. Turned out very moist every one loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I bundted it and had to raise the cooking time quite a bit. It made my daughters birthday. A week later I was asked to make one for work and it was gone in minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
To add the vinegar/baking soda mix without lumping, I put a little of the dough into the cup and mixed it all together before adding it all back into the bowl. It blended quickly and smoothly. Also, I halved the recipe (bit much for two people), and then cooked it thinner to make the layers. My husband wanted it to be more moist, and wanted a sweeter frosting. Cream Cheese is less sweet here, so maybe I'll add some sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABY
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I MADE THIS CAKE FOR MY FIANCES BIRTHDAY THE OTHER DAY. IT TASTED RATHER DRY. IT WAS MISSING SOMETHING. I THINK IT COULD'VE USED A LITTLE MORE SUGAR. IT WAS SORT OF BLAND AND NOT MOIST ENOUGH. I THINK NEXT TIME I'LL TRY ANOTHER RED VELVET RECIPE. :\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I followed the directions of this recipe exactly, except I made cupcakes instead. They came out well, but the cake was a little too sweet for me. Nice moist and spongy texture, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by las222005
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made it on Saturday it was gone Sunday night!!! Oh and I replace real sugar with splenda for baking for the cake and used splenda for the frosting if you add a splash of lemon juice it will definitely kill the slight after taste in the frosting. Everyone thought it was delicious. Wonderful for the first time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by las222005

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I only used the frosting recipe included in this recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Not worth all the work. I followed the recipe exactly. Cake was rather chewy. Taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States