Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Very good cake, however this recipe needed tweaked just a bit. It overflowed in 8" pans, so 9" pans would work much better. Also, I found it needed to bake for a total of 45 minutes. For the frosting, I used 1 stick of butter and let the cream cheese come to room temp to be nice and soft and manageable. I added 2 C of confectioner's sugar and 1 tsp vanilla and beat it for several minutes. This made the frosting really easy to manage. It allowed it to get firm and keep the cake from sliding. It turned out very good! I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This cake is pretty good, moist and yummy! I love how fluffy it is with the butter and eggs. I also enjoyed the delicious white chocolate icing to accompany it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bountiful-life

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I used this recipe just for the icing. I added 1/2 c of powdered sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla to make it a little sweeter (kid friendly) and a little thicker for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I too am an experienced (professional, retired) chef. I love this recipe and from my research about the origins of Red Velvet Cake and why it is red, this recipe is very authentic. The frosting was no problem. My guests that had the cake are Southern and very picky about traditional dishes - they loved it. If they hadn't I would have been sure to know because like I said, they are very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
spilled over the cake pans; needs to be in (3) 9" pans. tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I used this recipe to make a red velvet cake for the first time. It was very sweet. I love the moistness of the cake and will make again but cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jameniag

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
First time making red velvet cake. Decided to make it as cupcakes. Overcooked the 1st batch. Not the best red velvet cake I've tasted. I am not sure if that is the recipe or the baker, however. It seemed to be missing something, but I am not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by psheffthat
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
With this much cocoa, it is difficult to get a true red color, but the flavor is good. The white chocolate cream cheese frosting is phenomenal and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by psheffthat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This cake was absolutely fabulous! I made it for my boyfriends 40th birthday party and it got rave reviews. I will definitely make it again. I made it with classic buttercream frosting. It was very moist and delicious. The best red velvet cake I ever had. I added 1/4 cup more buttermilk and 1 1/2 more tsps. of cocoa like the other people who rated it suggested and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Thank you for this excellent recipe. I added an extra tablespoon of cocoa and used a traditional cream cheese frosting recipe from elsewhere on the site. Just like mom used to (and still does) make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States