Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I only used the frosting from the recipe, and did not care for it. If I let the chocolate cool it would start to harden and never incorporated into to frosting smoothly,and way too much buter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I made this recipe tonight - my first red velvet cake - and it was awesome! I even forgot to add the vanilla and salt and it was still good. The frosting was perfect for the cake as well, although I can understand why some people added the powdered sugar to stiffen it up a bit. I used a kitchen aid mixer so I was easily able to get it to "whip cream" consistency. I did want to add (similar to other viewers) that with my oven at 325 it took nearly twice as long to bake the cake. Every oven is different of course, so I think next time I'll do 350 for 25 - 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This cake wasn't very good. It didn't taste good and a strange feel to it. I'll keep looking for a good Red Velvet Cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I gave it a 4 star rating because of all the changes i had to make to the recipe.. but it turned out amazing! I reduced the sugar and flour to 2 cups each, doubled the cocoa, and baked it at 350F in one 10x14 pan. The only other things I should have done were to double the food coloring, and sift the cocoa with the flour. As far as the icing, I hadn't read the reviews regarding salted butter before I went grocery shopping, so I made it with white chocolate chips, salted butter and lowfat cream cheese. I whipped it well in the mixer, and added 3 tbsp of confectioners sugar. Once it cooled for about 10 minutes in the refrigerator it was good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I had this cake when I lived in the States a few years back (I'm a native European) and I absoultely loved it. So I was excited to find a recipe that didn't call for cake mix. So I made this for me and my sisters birthday and it did taste ok. Very rich though. However it was quite messy to make and terrible to frost. It just crumbeld and there wasn't enough frosting to do the whole cake. I ended up useing whipped cream on the outside. I also had to leave the cake in the oven for about 20 min. more than the recipe called for. However, everyone liked the cake and it did taste fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
What a wonderful cake! I made this for a friend for her anniversary and it was requested again for her birthday! I made it exactly as directed and it couldn't have been better. What a pretty presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bear River City, Utah, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
as per many other reviewers, the cooking time/temp was very confusing and it ended up coming out very dry, not what a moist red velvet cake should be. but the frosting recipe is delicious and i will definitely use that for other recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Loved this recipe!!!! Cannot believe people have knocked it. I first tasted a red velvet cake in the USA and wanted to try it here in Australia, and the first attempt using a different recipe was SHOCKING!! This recipe turned out SUPERBLY and I am glad to say that I have since passed it on to ALL the guests at the function (about 70 in all!!!). WELL DONE on FINALLY getting a recipe that makes sense and is easy to follow!! (By the way, I put the oven to the first recommended temp and then TURNED DOWN THE OVEN when placing the cake in!!! Didn't take much to realise this!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BECCALYNN42
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
To be honest, I didn't use the cake recipe - but I did use the Frosting recipe, and it is truly AMAZING! Perfect consistency and incredible taste! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCALYNN42

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I am a Hoosier Born, transplanted Southener, and made this for my family in IN, last week. They have never had it nor heard of it, but they all Loved it!! This is my favorite. Can make it from memory now. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States