Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Overall, I liked the recipe. My cake turned out to be good and moist. Everyone enjoyed and commented on how moist it was. I do agree (with other reviews) the cocoa should be doubled. To get a deep red color, I used 1/4 t of Christmas red icing gel. I also added 1/8 c of beet juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Ah bliss! This is red velvet cake. Being a southerner (transplant though I may be) It is a delightful cake. I have been up and down the east coast and across the United States (being Air Force Officer brat myself) I have been in many fine establishments and known many Southern Gentlewomen who have this exact recipe. Except the white chocolate spin on it. Now while cream cheese frosting may indeed not be "traditional" as tone reviewer put it it is now a new Southern tradition. As the red devils food cake is known for its tang so is cream cheese which compliments it. Sometimes newer is better. This recipe doesn't claim to be old fashion or traditional. I love a new spin on an old favorite. I can name at least 300 Southern bakeries that use cream cheese frosting on thier red velvet cake. Why because I am a aspiring baker who is almost ready to open her own. I will be using this recipe. My husband is a Sheriff and his whole dept loved them (with quite a few Southerners in there by the way) They said it brought them back to thier child hood. Also as a note cream cheese has not become traditional until late last century because of refrigeration. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I don't believe the overall rating for this cake is very accurate. Before making the cake, I only read the front page reviews, but if you continue to read others, a great deal of people rated it at 5 stars for the icing alone. The flavor was good; however, I didn't care for the texture at all. It came out DENSE and DRY. I followed the directions, and by the suggestion of other reviewers, used 4 1/2 tablespoons of cocoa powder. I bake quite often and instinctly wanted to make my own adjustments but didn't because this was my first red velvet cake. I made it TWICE thinking I had made a mistake, but the flavor and texture were consistent in both. Very disappointing. My rating is still 3 stars because the flavor was good, it rose nicely, and was fairly easy to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I have been using this recipe for many years - scaled down to fit 2 pans. When I make it here at home in Switzerland it turns out amazing (although I add more cocoa), but when I made this recipe in Canada, it turned out terrible. The cake was dry and the icing was horrid. I don't know what the reason is, but here at home in Switzerland, it has become our "family birthday" cake. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INUKSHUK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very good! Will make it again. I just iced it and had the 1st piece. Next time I will make it 4 layers as each layer rose to full layer height. Icing is good, but I prefer a thicker sweater icing (only think keeping it from 5*). This is not real sweet, but is very very light and fluffy - not bad, I just have a terrible sweet-tooth! Very easy to make. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This cake is a winner! A couple of things - I added more red food coloring,with only one bottle, it was way too pink. I like two bottles. I used cake flour, wow, this makes such a difference in the texture. I will add more cocoa powder next time, not quite enough chocolate for me. will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arthur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I have made this cake for my son's birthday for many years. He turned 34 July,22 and was out of town on Navy duty. I am making it today because he comes home tonight! It will be in his refrigerator waiting on him! I make it in 4 layers and a double batch of the icing! We prefer it cold from the fridge! It is even delicious straight from the freezer especially the icing. My Mother used to make the same cake but with a Crisco icing, I haven't found that recipe since she passed but nothing beats WHITE CHOCOLATE!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
The cake was awesome, but I didn't like the icing. My kids loved the cake though. My 8 year said it is the best cake she ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I'm not a fan of red velvet (don't like cream cheese frosting) but I made this for my roommate who had been craving red velvet. He's WAY more talented in the kitchen then I am, so I was a bit nervous, but he LOVED it! I think he especially enjoyed the frosting as it is more than just your average cream cheese frosting. The cake (the part I like) was exactly right for red velvet - choclate, but not too chocolate. I'll definitely keep this on hand for future roommate surprises!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States