Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
If you are looking at the picture attached to this recipe and are imaging a fluffy, tasty, and moist red velvet cake, what this recipe will give you is a funky cake -kinda bland in flavor and totally bland in character. What I got was not reminiscent of a red velvet cake in any sense. The frosting was nice so you can probably piece that part of the recipe onto a better red velvet cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Cake was ok, not spectacular. Frosting was not good. I might try the cake again but definately NOT the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Shirah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Great recipe! Used this to make a friend's wedding cake and got amazing reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PASTRYPIXIE

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWISSMISS10
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and my cake turned out GREAT! I had a football mold that I used, so it took a lot longer to bake obviously, so I checked it often. I used a different icing recipe from this site. The cake was SUPER moist and d-lish! Everyone at the party LOVED it. I made is on Tuesday, iced it on Weds and ate it on Thursday and it was great! The mold I have is for 10 cups, and this amount was perfect for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
A red velvet cake is NOT a chocolate cake! It is, in fact, a buttermilk cake and there are some recipes that do not even contain the cocoa. Great frosting if it is completely cooled, but I think the cake itself may need some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
the rating is for the icing, which is UNbelievably good, but was all i made this time around, using my own red velvet recipe for the cake part. I took someone's advice and added a bit of confectioner's sugar and vanilla extract to make it a bit more manageable for decorating. I piped the icing onto cupcakes and they were snatched up quickly by my guests! I could have eaten the bowl of icing by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
WOW!! I made this into cupcakes for a friends birthday, everyone raved about them. I did use home made cream cheese frosting though, only because that's what she wanted and it was her birthday. These were moist and super good, not too too sweet. I baked the cupcakes at 350 for 22 minutes in reynolds baking cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Excellent cake, not to sweet and the icing was awesome. I went straight by the directions and the only problem I had was the 325 for 25 minutes in the oven, I had to leave it for quite a bit longer. It was the tallest cake I've ever seen and it was a hit at the party !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I made this cake for a work bithday and everyone loved it but they all said the same thing... not enough chocolate so next time i will double the cocoa. The icing came out perfectly for me. trick is to make all the ingredients room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sah Bear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thomastown, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I have grown up with red velvet cake. My grandmother made it for every special occasion and it was always my birthday request. However, being a true Southern cook she made the 7 minute frosting, not the cream cheese. My grandmother's recipe calls for only 2 eggs, which makes it lighter, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States