Red Velvet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I have used this recipe for years, way before the recipe box was around. I am out of town without my print out. Thank goodness I found it again. This recipe is awesome! I also make truffles with it. I crumble the cake and mix in the frosting. Spoon on a cookie sheet and freeze. Then I dip them in white chocolate. I keep them frozen. Thaw just before serving. Greatest hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I made this recipe for a friend to congratulate her on being accepted to her dream college. It was a small personal sized cake so I cut the portions in half. I also did not use the included Cream Cheese icing recipe and instead substituted my own. It turned out very well. It wasn't too sweet and everyone loved it. I would recommend reading it through once before you start. There's a sections where mixtures are put together in three separate bowls. It could be confusing if you're not expecting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
My personal favorite! I use this recipe exclusively!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeConnors

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I think the recipe was just okay. I was questioning the baking temperature of 325 from the beginning. After the amount of time called for in the recipe, the batter was still very runny. I had to leave in the oven for an additional 15-20 minutes, which probably attributed to the dryness. I think if the recipe called for 350 the cake would have been ok. It just was not moist at all. I use my own cream cheese/powdered sugar frosting which everyone likes. No, was not a fan of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Not impressed with this recipe at all. Definitely would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
A great recipe. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelBaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Great recipe. Note: if you need the icing to be a tad thicker, just add confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe for cake (did not use icing recipe); moist cake, not too heavy as some red velvets tend to be. Everybody loved it this holiday season. None to throw out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My first time trying this recipe for Red Velvet Cake. Worst Red Velvet Cake ever. I followed the directions but the cake fell and the center of the cake turned out wierd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was my first time making a Red Velvet cake. I bake and cook a lot and figured it was time to try this old standard. My cake came out fabulous! I got many compliments and people asked for a second slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States