Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
It was marvelous!! Really had the Red Velvet flavor. I did make mine with the some of the suggestions made by TAMSHEROWNBOSS: Exchange 1/2 cup of the oil for melted butter and added 3 TBSP total cocoa. The pudding I used was "cheesecake" flavor. The cake was super moist and exactly right. THANK YOU :) ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This isn't a bad cake but it isn't much of a red velvet cake. To me it tasted more like a red yellow cake, I could still taste the yellow cake mix. I made it with my daughter and it was moist and pretty but it didn't taste like red velvet to me it just looked like one. I would reccomend trying a chocolate/ devils food cake mix if you want to use a cake mix to make a red velvet cake or even just adding some extras to a red velvet mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This was a great recipe. I increased the cocoa to 2 tablespoons, and used a basic cream cheese frosting in lieu of the one in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Good, but is this your recipient
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I'm rating this cake in the middle of the road. I'll explain. The cake being a box mix, mixed with other ingredients and not home made from scratch was still really good. Not that hard to make or follow to a T. I rate the cake a 5 star. I can't rate the frosting with the cake very well to what I was expecting. While it was also easy to assemble and ease of the ingredients. I didn't like the fact, that it didn't taste like cream cheese frosting with the listed ingredients. My daughter liked it but to say it was cream cheese frosting, I honestly can't. It was a pudding frosting. It didn't have the right style of flavor of a true cream cheese frosting....even with the cream cheese in the frosting. The pudding mix, totally over powered and masked the flavor intended for a red velvet cake with traditional cream cheese frosting. Sorry. It really didn't do justice to my taste buds and I wasn't thoroughly impressed with it. I am sorry I didn't like the frosting flavor at all. I'll make the cake again but not the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is okay. It works. C'mon, this is a cake mix, NOT a "from scratch" cake and as such it shouldn't be compared against the from scratch version. A little short on flavor perhaps, but then I find "the real thing" to have the same issue (except for the McCormick recipe). My criticism then, is not so much how it rates compared to a from scratch Red Velvet cake from your childhood you remember your grandma making so much as I don't like the big holes that appeared. Not attractive. But put this in a pretty cupcake liner (baked as cupcakes about 22 minutes), top with cream cheese frosting, and you've got a legitimately passable Red Velvet Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I decided to finally make a Red Velvet Cake to see what the hype was all about...Boy, was this a hit in my family...I gave a piece to my dghtr to take to work and it flew off her plate as soon as she unwrapped it...I drove to my other dghtr's workplace at lunch time and same reaction... Everybody just Looooved it!!!! Great, Great, Great Recipe!! Only thing was I used the recipe from Cream Cheese Frosting II and that was Awesome too!!! This is now our family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tita819

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
The cake itself was good. The frosting was just meh. Didn't matter - people at the office ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegHarmeyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
YUM! I like to decorate with fresh sliced strawberries. Ive used the frosting recipe many times for other cakes, changing the pudding flavor to whatever goes with the cake I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
My cake turned out dry and a weird texture. I don't know if I did something wrong or what. I made my grandma's recipe and used it instead. It tasted alright but I needed it to be moister. Thanks I don't know why it turned out dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States