Red Velvet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I was a little concerned with the reviews about dryness and bland flavor and color. Neither dryness or color was an issue. I substituted 1/2 c of melted butter for veg. oil, and put in 3 T of cocoa. This was a moist, delicious cake, the entire family LOVED it. Served with my own icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Oh yeah - this is the recipe for me, a busy mom who needs shortcuts. I just made these for a bake sale. The recipe makes 24+1(for the cook, of course)cupcakes. They are incredibly moist, dense, and RED. My modifications: -white cake mix -3T of cocoa -1 full oz of red coloring I chose to go with another frosting (Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site) because I prefer more of a dense cream cheese taste and texture. It's perfect with these cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I took this cake to an office potluck for Christmas and it was gone in 10 minutes. Everyone LOVED it!! It was moist and wonderful!! I was skeptical about the frosting but it was a refreshing treat, light and just right!! Excellent recipe, I will make it again and again and everyone will think I worked hard doing it! Easy and excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I have never liked red velvet cake until I made this recipe!!!!! I made it for my boyfriend's birthday because it's his favorite and we both couldn't stop eating it. I served it to several people and everyone said it was the best they ever had. I used a more traditional cream cheese frosting so I can't comment on the frosting. I don't know why it has gotten some reviews that it's bland because mine turned out absolutely moist and delicious. Wonderful recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I have never had any other Red Velvet cake, so I don't know what to compare it to. But at any rate, THIS IS SOOOO GOOD! I did make a few changes suggested by other reviewers. I used 4 tablespoons of cocoa, one tablespoon of vanilla, and two 1oz bottles of the food coloring. I also used the moist yellow cake mix. I didn't have time to make the icing, so I used a store bought whipped cream cheese icing. I put some chopped pecans on top. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This is a so-so cake. Easy enough for a beginner cook, or a person who doesn't have enough time to actually make a traditional Red velvet cake w/ a butter roux frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
I liked this recipe alot. I used twice the cocoa, twice the red food coloring, and I added vanilla extract. I did not make the icing. I used store bought cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Red Velvet cake is a family favorite, and this recipe is the easiest I've ever used! I double up on the cocoa, and use store-bought icing. We LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeri Bolin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Duncanville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I am not from the south, nor am I an expert on what a Red Velvet Cake is supposed to take like. My only experience with Red Velvet Cake is one lushious experience at the Claim Jumper Restaurant which prompted me to look for a recipe. I am an expert at knowing a delicious dessert when I taste one and this one is amazing! I added 4 Tbsp Cocoa as other reviewers suggested and 1 tsp vanilla extract. This was absolutely delicious. I did not use the frosting. Instead I made my own cream cheese frosting (1-8oz Cream Cheese, 1 stick margarine, 2 cups powdered sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla). I made this for the office as cupcakes and also for my mother in law's birthday. Everyone raved about this and several wanted more than I had. I plan on making this for my niece's baby shower this weekend and can't wait to devour again. Thanks so much for a really easy amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
This recipe is fantastic! Absolutely the best red velvet cake I've ever tasted! Thank you so much for sharing this delicious, moist and easy recipe. I've been asked all the time to bring this delicious dessert to family gatherings, functions, pot lucks, etc. My friends/family just love it! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Velvet Cake I

See how to make a delicious and beautiful layered cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Red Velvet Cake

This classic cake is a stunner for the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States